Unravel Me

oh my! there he is!

2003-04-12
(this is my 2nd entry today/this weekend)

oh my! there he is!...

strangeness. does this kind of stuff only happen to me? i hope not. i just came across an ex-boyfriend's webpage. his page and his girlfriend's page. now my heart is racing.

i went out with him for a just short while as a sophomore in college. in fact, i mentioned him in a previous entry. i actually broke up with him for reasons i already mentioned in that entry.

wow. what i read on his webpage reminded me of just how brilliant he was. in truth, i was quite attracted to his mind, among other things. he grew up in fort myers, florida and graduated h.s. at age 16...national merit scholar and all that. he went to florida state u. for undergrad, then went to umass for his master's degree (which is when i met and dated him). he was finishing up his master's degree in the spring of '94.

what i now know is that he went on to earn a ph.d. at cal-tech. now he's doing post-doc research at a university in the netherlands. he lives over there with his girlfriend (she's also american, not dutch). i also learned that his girlfriend is my age and graduated from williams college in '96.

this makes me wonder if he met her soon after we broke up, and when he was still living in massachusetts. it's a weird feeling to come across an ex's page. at least it wasn't a webblog or that would have been really, really strange for me. oh man.

some luck i have--it's so strange what and who you find in cyberspace. it makes me realize that it was the right decision to password this page here to lessen the chances of getting googled by someone who knows me or that i know. how random. after mentioning the netherlands in this morning's entry (thanks itzie for the gorgeous tulip photos among others), i did an internet search on holland/netherlands. lo and behold, there it was--my ex-boyfriend's webpage. to double the trouble--there was his girlfriend's web page as well.

oh my. has this (randomly stumbling upon an ex's page) ever happened to anyone else? or just me? someone--anyone--*please* tell me it's not just me.

9:14 p.m. ::
prev :: next