Unravel Me

Taste Test: How To Win Them Over

2010-06-25
I set a record for staying up late last week to finish typing the big D (college doesn't count). I didn't pull an all-niter, but came very close. How does a bed time of 5:45am sound? I still can't believe I pulled that off. Something gave me the strength to push through and I think it was mostly adrenaline. I also think that maybe the "teapill" herbs that my new acupuncturist gave me might be helping give me a little more push power to not hit a wall. The herbs are little black balls. They remind me of the siberian red ginseng pills that my now elderly and frail pharmacologist-acupuncturist aunt in Korea recommended when I developed that all-consuming, bone-tired autoimmune fatigue in my 20's. (At that time, I took them sporadically but never really embraced them, and was maybe slightly skeptical. I now realize she had provided them with love b/c she was so concerned that someone so young (20) was so exhausted. Furthermore, I realize that if I were to have bought them, those would have cost a fortune b/c they were large bottles). These herbs I'm currently trying have names like "left side replenishing" or "ten flavor tea pills". They are probably more palatable than the actual tea form of those herbs.

Anyway, I'm tenacious, if nothing else, and I had to stay with the dissertation, do or die, akin to when you're running a race and need to stay focused. If you turn around and look, someone will gain ground on you and you'll get distracted. Caving in and going to bed would have de-railed me my focus and momentum. Of course, I'm paying for my almost-all-nighter in a major way this week.

My "final" page count was 172 after careful editing and formatting. It is subject to change, as it's typical for 99.99% of candidates to have some revisions to do after defending. You just hope they aren't extensive. Right now, it's kind of overwhelming to go back and remember what I wrote and then synthesize and condense it into a 20-30 minute talk. What kinds of questions will they ask? What curveballs do I need to prepare for?

Aside from getting my talk ready for next Thursday, there are two silly but important things on my mind. The first is: what to wear. I've been trying to find a tasteful skirt and top combination, but am realizing most summer skirts are kind of out-of style and it's dresses that are really "in" this summer. The second question is: what type of snack should I bake for my committee?? (I know, right?).

It seems ridiculous, but it's customary for doctoral candidates to bring bottled water and snacks for their committee. At my proposal, I brought fresh strawberries, and then some pastel colored Easter M & M's. My professors all went for the latter, and it figures. Chocolate. This time, I'll probably bake something, but what? My defense is in the afternoon, so it won't be a breakfasty type of item.

I'm probably better off posting this elsewhere where more people are likely to "vote", but since I'm keeping a low profile regarding my dissertation defense on other social networking sites, just because, I'll ask trusted diaryland for an answer. If you (diaryland) were my professors/dissertation committee members, what would you most like to see me bake and bring to my defense session as a snack?

1) brownies (or some variation, like blondies or a specific type of brownie, like swirled brownies)?

2) lemon pound cake with fresh blueberries to go with? (it's summertime and this is in season)

3) some type of cookie

4) a loaf of zucchini bread (this is also in season since it's summer)

5) chocolate bundt cake that has melted chocolate inside of it (it's a pudding/sour cream cake so the texture is great).

Pick a favorite out of these, OR, rank order them from what you'd most go for, to what you'd be least enthusiastic about. Bear with me. This is a silly poll, but maybe this will help me decide on something. You see, my real-life friends said to make my famous blueberry crisp. That's delicious but I think it's too messy. It has to be something they can slice and take a piece of, not something where I'll have to bring utensils and plates and spoons.

Help me win over my committee members.

7:01 a.m. ::
prev :: next