Unravel Me

Il neige tres, tres beaucoup demain...et samedi. Aie!!

2010-02-04
You know it's going to be bad when this university closes. I think I've said before that UVA never, ever, EVER closes. But the announcement came around 5pm as I was finishing up work at the lab and getting ready to brave the grocery store to grab one of the remaining loaves of bread to tide me through the next several days. We're in for up to anywhere from 22 to 28 inches of snow over the next couple of days. Holy cow! This reminds me of early 1994, my sophomore year of college, when New England kept getting pummeled by snowstorms every several days. Crazy stuff, really. This is the first time Virginia has had this kind of winter in years. That's probably a good thing.

I don't expect to be able to leave my house for several days after the storm ends. I don't expect mail delivery to happen either. Somehow I doubt my Sunday Washington Post will be on my doorstep this weekend. Roads in my neighborhood become treacherous very quickly. Plowing and road treatment is very spotty here,since I'm *technically* in the county, just outside of city limits. I heard from people who stayed here in December after that big storm, the main road out of my neighborhood was impassable.

So my fridge and cupboards are stocked with all the basics, plus snacks, plus ingredients for either a curry or a soup if the power doesn't go out. There's wine and hot cocoa. A couple of jugs of water. Batteries, flashlights, matches and candles. Blankets. Gonna charge my ipod and phone in case we lose electricity. And there's knitting/crocheting to do. Who says you can't procrastinate on Ravelry, as you look around for new ideas and patterns? I'm crocheting a set of placemats for someone, and plan to make a scarlet colored petal scarf, and a slouchy beret. To work with yarn and drink tea is my perfect stay-home activity. Earl Grey Girl. That's right.

OK. More as it happens. If you don't hear from me, I might well be buried in an avalanche of snow and work.


10:47 p.m. ::
prev :: next