Unravel Me

Before My Brain Freezes....

2008-10-23
What better time to take a break and update diaryland than when I should be doing....you guessed it! Statistical analyses (for my ongoing research project on giftedness)! Actually the project is going well, but ask me about it again after I meet with my professor tomorrow.

This fall, I came to the sudden realization that I seriously procrastinate any time I have to do statistics. You see, even though I've taken four required stats classes, and can do math well if I have to, I've always seen the verbal/literary/humanities sphere as where my bigger strengths lie. It's the former college English major in me, maybe. I've reached the point in my doctoral program where I'm being required to actually USE the statistics/math I learned over the past couple of years, and apply it to my research project(s). And now that it's happening, at times, insecurity and fear pervade my entire being and just paralyze me. It's like my brain freezes up. And then as a result, I procrastinate for fear of--I don't know--maybe making a mistake. Or maybe I'm afraid I won't remember how to do the stuff I learned last year, even when I look at my notes, because it all looks Greek to me (literally--what the hell do Lambda or Cronbach's Alpha mean?). It's probably silly to feel that way but there you have it. Also, number-crunching IS dry stuff, no matter how you cut it. I'd rather be outdoors enjoying the pretty, colorfal fall foliage. But...

Things are going pretty well, though I've barely had a moment to come up for air, b/c things have been so busy. But for an overview of my latest: sometime soon, I'll have to tell you about how I found myself standing on the UVA football field last Saturday after the crazy game against North Carolina. Crazy! (Unless my graduation ceremony ends up being held in the stadium, this was probably the one and only time I'll ever actually stand on the university's football field, and feel so dwarfed by hugeness of everything there). Did you know I'm about to be initiated into an honor society? And guess what? Did you know that my jeans are tight these days? Also, just so you know, I'm on the market for the perfect black skirt. It's harder than one might think to find a good basic black skirt. And oh yeah, I'm waiting for a foot injury to heal, so I can stop having to tape my foot and wear nothing but athletic shoes. I can hardly wait for it to heal so I can wear pretty shoes again, and not just athletic shoes and athletic clothes that make people at school think I must be some type of jock or a compulsive exerciser or gym-rat. And dare I say or even dream that I'd like my foot to heal so I can consider trying to participate in the local 10 Miler Training program or at least getting back into running? At least summer is over, or I'd also be bummed at having to avoid wearing flip flops.

Funny enough, sometimes I really miss coming here to diaryland unload my thoughts or the latest events, even if no one really comes around these parts anymore. Don't worry, I haven't gone away to F@cebook for good. I still actively read various blogs in my spare moments either here or in my handy Google-reader feed. Anyway....that's about it from here today.

2:32 p.m. ::
prev :: next