Unravel Me

Ahn-Young-Ha-Say-Oh

2007-05-30
Hello from Colorado! OK, first things first, repeat the following phrase after me (say it out loud and slowly): "AHN-YOUNG-HA-SAY-OH". Good job! You just said a basic Korean greeting, which means (approximately) something to the effect of "Hello, how are you?". That's about all the proper Korean I know, but it's a start!

The day after tomorrow, I'll be somewhere out over the Pacific Ocean, for the long, many-hour flight to the "Land of the Morning Calm". I've got my ipod, some good reading materials, some dark chocolate, a stack of playing cards, and a few other things to keep me occupied. I'll probably also sleep some, and might watch the movie(s) the airline decides to show, while sipping an orange juice-vodka cocktail.

When we land at Seoul/Incheon, it'll be about 5:30pm the next day. I'm prepared for some crushing jet lag, if my vague memory of landing in tokyo at age seven serves me correctly. (But you never win the jet lag war no matter which ocean you cross--because if you cross the Atlantic Ocean and land at London Heathrow, like I did in 1994, it's already early morning there when it's late at night back home, so when the day is starting, you're ready to go to your hotel and sleep). Nonetheless, I'm certain the adrenaline will also kick in soon after, because this is going to be an exciting, special experience.

Have I forgotten anything? Well if not, I think that's it! I'll catch y'all on the flip side of the earth in three weeks--(i.e. when I return to the western hemisphere with a better understanding of the heritage that runs through my veins).

10:18 a.m. ::
prev :: next