Unravel Me

blue light special

2006-09-20
This afternoon, on the way to school, I was treated to an $86 blue light special. A cop pulled me over just down the road from home, for apparently rolling a three-way stop sign, and I got my 1st ever traffic ticket. I was running late for my office hours, and thinking tomorrow's statistics exam, when I glanced in my rearview mirror & saw a cop right on my bumper with blue lights flashing but no siren. I assumed he was on his way to another call and wanted to pass me. But I pulled over just in case it was for me, and then he did too! I was puzzled, and wondered "huh?", and then thought, "fuck fuck fuck" and wondered if I'd been speeding. Well instead... this is that:

COP: "Good afternoon. Can I see your driver's license and car registration please, ma'am?" {I fumble for my wallet, dig them out and hand them over}
COP: "Do you know why I pulled you over?"
ME: "No".
COP: "You know that 3-way stop sign back there? You didn't come to a complete stop. Your wheels need to stop turning completely for three full seconds, ma'am. But you slowed down to an almost-stop".
{The cop, turns back toward his patrol car, and says he needs to run my driver's license, that it'll just be a few minutes, and he'll be right back}.
ME:{Thinking to self: "You have GOT to be kidding!}
"So... Since I've never once been pulled over before...is this a warning?"
COP:"No, ma'am. I'm afraid I need to write a full ticket. We've been flooded with complaints about that intersection".
ME:"Aw, even with 16 clean, spotless years of driving?"
COP:"Yes, ma'am. {Cop hands me ticket to sign, stating it will be $30 for the fine + $56 processing fee for a total of $86. He says it's payable online, or I can go before a judge on my court date of October 13th}.
"Congratulations on your fine driving record, ma'am. It's impressive, so keep it up! You have a safe afternoon now".

Ugh, good grief! The more I think about it, the more annoyed I get. I've been driving for 16 years and had a spotless record 'til today. There's one bored cop. It was a total trap, and he basically said as much. What a dick! Right now I can afford an $86 ticket as much as I can afford a hole in my head. And I'm still grumpy from a bad head-cold going around here.

5:11 p.m. ::
prev :: next