Unravel Me

hot for teacher

2006-09-01
call me hermione. hermione with the hots for her numeracy professor. my classmate matt jokingly nicknamed me "hermione" after i showed up late to two classes. apparently, seeing me breathlessly scurrying in five minutes after lecture has begun conjures up images of Hermione and her time-turner in Harry Potter book #3 (Azkaban).

with all good intentions, i've found myself showing up tardy for everything lately, and school is no exception. parking at the university is 10x worse than it was back when i was there for master's degree. crazy! even with my medical parking placard, i must often circle around to find a space. also, i'm honestly still getting used to the longer commute from my new apartment. my old place spoiled me b/c it was so close to school that one could walk to campus, or roll out of bed, hop in the car and be at class all within 15 minutes. anyway, i've survived my first full week of classes, including the aforementioned soporific one the other evening.

i think i'll really enjoy statistics class this semester! hell, i'd better like the stuff, b/c this is the 1st in a series of several required math/stats courses in my program. are you asking why on earth a former humanities major like me is crunching numbers? don't worry. i took stats way back in college for my psychology minor. i loved it, so it'll be fine, not to mention integral to my chosen field now (psychology/educational research/human development).

but my MAIN point is: im gonna like this class, and as a pleasant surprise...my professor is a total hottie! he's young (34), has a great smile & gorgeous, bright blue eyes. he's brilliant, but also explains things well so the average person "gets it". he's also laid-back and seems genuinely helpful. OK, i'll stop with the crush. but how much better does it get?!

what else? i got to hold matt & mercer's adorable baby boy on sunday. he's calm, sweet, fat as a butterball turkey, and smiley as can be. i also enjoyed a test ride in their Toyota Prius. matt took me for a spin in what can only be called one cool car! (more on that another time). finally, summer is waning, and that's hard for me each year. i'm not ready for autumn yet, but the weather has suddenly turned wet and dark, with the soaking rain & wind of Tropical Storm Ernesto's remnants. ick. let's just hope it's not like Isabel.

10:23 a.m. ::
prev :: next