Unravel Me

soporific

2006-08-30
i think it's going to be a good semester/year despite how rigorous & intense it will be. the main big adjustment has been going from "working girl" to student mode. i have to admit that at 32, the fleeting question of whether i'd remember how to be a student did cross my mind. silly! but school has required a major readjustment of my daily routine, esp. in terms of reapportioning energy. why? because having TWO 7-10pm classes this semester sucks balls!

for one, i hate night-driving. two, my evening classes knock out some good tv nights for me. i'm dreading the start of a new ANTM and how i'll miss it, and then come home to read all sorts of spoilers here and elsewhere online before seeing it for myself on my new tv.

also, night classes really throw off my whole schedule. hopefully my evening classes don't make me gain weight, like the PhD version of the "freshman 15". see, i came home from school tonight and ate a bowl of soup at 11pm b/c i was ravenously hungry. then my willpower crumbled and i had a brownie. i broke my cardinal rule of not eating too close to bedtime. oh well, as long as i don't slip into eating too many late-night pizzas, or ice cream at midnight...whatever. it could be a moot point, b/c it's after 1am and i'm *still* wide awake. tonight's caffeine actually was more of a luxury than a necessity, as today's professor is engaging and interesting.

tomorrow's reasearch methods class is another story. the subject material itself is fine, and the professor seems like a sweet old man. HOWEVER, he's *very* soft-spoken, has a blocked-nasal sounding voice, and he mumbles. my only response to that is starbucks. or java city. or heck, i'm willing to roll through the mcdonald's drive-thru window for cheap coffee if it means staying awake enough to learn.

finally, teaching won't be half-bad, even with 60+ students. sure, it'll take a while to put names & faces together, especially with so many Brookes, Lindseys, and Caitlins! and sure, there's some of that initial introverted/shy stage-fright and all that. but my advisor is good and it looks like she has the right combination of trust in me + the willingness to show me the ropes when needed.

i'll tell you more about teaching later on. but for now i must get to bed. tomorrow promises be long, complete with drop-in office hours in the afternoon & capped off with a soporific research class at night.

1:11 a.m. ::
prev :: next