Unravel Me

wordsmith

2005-11-20
OK, the fancy words & brain-teaser i tossed out in last week's entry were a build-up to last monday. i took the GRE. how i'd dreaded it! but, guess what? i did extremely well. if beating my old combined score felt good enough, the *best* feeling was going over 700 on the verbal portion. wordsmith! i think people statistically tend to score higher on math than verbal, so it was almost like breaking through some sort of glass-ceiling. apparently, 720 ='s the 98th %ile on the verbal section!

what about the rusty math? i didn't hit my old score (680), but came close enough and pulled off a solid, respectable performance. that night i was taken to dinner at an indian restaurant, featuring curry, a mango lassi, and a kingfisher beer. however i can't truly relax yet, b/c i still await my analytical essay scores in the mail.

what had i feared so much? i've been out of school for a while, so there were cobwebs in the math part of my brain. the format is also very different from when i took it in 1996. it's true, w/ a master's degree, grad school is a "been-there, done-that". but my old GRE scores expired, and i figured it was time for a re-take. now it's under my belt, in case i ever decide to go back to school for a doctorate or something. now it's time to focus on other important things.

in other news, i got a haircut today & replenished my aveda shampoo supply. i love the new 'do. i'd debated getting bangs, but held off. maybe come spring, i'll get the courage. it's funny i was so hesitant, b/c i had bangs all my life until a few years ago. i think my reluctance came from remembering what a pain it is to have hair in that in-between stage you get when you grow bangs out. they say bangs make people look younger, and i think it's true.

yesterday, at world market, i picked up a bottle of pinot noir for thanksgiving dinner. i just love that store! they have such a great wine section (affordable, too), my favorite scone mix, and so many neat little things. today is mom's birthday. there is a cake in the oven right now, and a gift to be wrapped. they're coming w/ me when i stuff my car & leave for my parent's house. now, who can complain about a short (i.e. one-day) work week? what is it that makes thanksgiving such a great holiday? it has to be a belly full of good food, and a heart full of joy.

7:57 p.m. ::
prev :: next