Unravel Me

bubbles, bleach & brainy answers

2005-11-12
daisy & joel's engagement party was fun! it was combined w/ her b-day party, and joel flew in from california. it was good to see him again. there were great people, the food was fabulous, and conversation & drinks flowed freely & there were silver M & M's. i had lumpia (Filipino spring rolls) for the 1st time and was hooked! you should try them, too, if you haven't--they're much like thai/vietnamese fried spring rolls. by the end of the evening, the champagne bubbles had gone to my head, and i felt bubbly! it was a much-needed, laid-back, good time. i vaguely recall getting home, changing into my PJ's, and letting the bubbly wear off by sleepily mousing around online.

this wasn't my morning, though. a leaf-blower rudely woke me. and now, my apt smells like chlorine (bleach). after what started as an attempt to clean my bathroom, my favorite, slate-blue Tommy Hilfiger bath mat is ruined. maybe it's PMS, or maybe it's yesterday's imbibing, but whatever the reason, this morning found me very butterfingered. whilst spraying tile cleaner on my tub and shower, the bottle--which was unscrewed for some odd reason�slipped out of my hands and spilled all over my floor, leaving my entire bathroom wet and slick, and instantly bleaching my beloved, blue, designer bath mat. now it looks ghetto with bleached streaks.

what's worse, after wiping up the chemical slick w/ paper towels, and attempting to flush those towels away, my toilet clogged up. which was dumb, because i should have learned my lesson after seattle '02. oh, boy, was that an adventure! after cleaning my sister's apt. one day, i dropped a wad of paper towels into the toilet and flushed them, unwittingly plugging up the toilet. the rest of the day turned into a hunt *all* over seattle (literally!) for a simple plunger, b/c every store we hit that afternoon was mysteriously out of them. at nightfall, we finally ventured into the safeway near u-village/UW that saved us from having to resort to peeing in the shower. ha!

but the day is still young, so things can only get better. finally, here are the answers to yesterday's questions: 1) PUSILLANIMOUS means "cowardly", OBSTREPEROUS means "noisily & stubbornly defiant or aggressively boisterous", SENTENTIOUS means "tending to moralize excessively".

2) The answer is D--there are 210 possible combinations, which I figured out this way: There are four slots to fill. Since there are 10 students, 10 could fill the first slot, 9 are left to fill the second slot, 8 could fill the third, and 7 cold fill the fourth. That's 10 x 9 x 8 x 7. Divide this by the number of slots, which is four: 4 x 3 x 2 x 1. Since this is a huge fraction, you can simplify it, by canceling out some numbers, so it's 10 x 3 x 7 = 210. bingo!

1:38 p.m. ::
prev :: next