Unravel Me

pink cadillac lady

2005-09-13
so i wrote last night that i'd artfully dodged a sales pitch at saturday's Mary Kay party. this is that:

BEAUTY CONSULTANT: (a.k.a. sales lady) "What did you think?"

ME: "Oh it was fun. Thanks for doing this".

BEAUTY CONSULTANT: "Sure! This is my favorite part of the job. Personalizing makeup choices for my customers makes me feel like I'm really connecting with them.�

ME: "Yeah�mm hmm."

BEAUTY CONSULTANT:(said in gushing voice) �Mary Kay�s original vision make sthe company so successful�(blah blah blah)�SO, what products will you be purchasing today?"

ME: "Uh, ahem, well, actually I'm pretty well stocked with all of my cosmetic & skin care products at the moment. So I won't be buying anything. But thanks again for your time."

BEAUTY CONSULTANT: (looking perplexed) "W-w-w-when�when do you think you'll run out?"

ME: "Not for a long time. Like I said, all of my products are brand new.�

BEAUTY CONSULTANT : "I've used Clinique before. Their face cleansing system is a three-step program, but with ours, you�ll save so much time. As a busy woman, I'm sure you appreciate saving time".

ME: "I like to save time. But I'm truly happy with my current products".

BEAUTY CONSULTANT: (hands over brochure & name card)�Well then, let me give you these. When is a good time to call? I can stop by your home, your workplace, whatever works for you�

ME: �Actually, I�m always hard to reach by phone, I'm rarely home, and I travel a lot for work. I'm not interested in buying any products. But listen, if I decide to buy anything in the future, I know how to contact YOU.�

**HA! HA! what i didn't say is that yesterday afternoon, i momentarily questioned the efficacy of my "no". i received this Voicemail On My Work Phone: � Hiiii Emeraldtiger, this is K. your Mary Kay consultant. I enjoyed meeting you at Daisy�s house on Saturday and wanted to follow up with you to schedule a glamour session, and see if you�d made up your mind about which products you wanted to purchase. The �apricot glaze� lipstick looked perfect on you! I know there are so many other popular products out there, but Mary Kay is the #1 selling cosmetic brand in the U.S. When you get this message, call me. I know you�re pressed for time, though, so if it�s easier, I can come by your office or we can discuss your makeup needs over lunch�.

I admit, she�s got persistence & determination. Of course, you've gotta have guts to drive a pink cadillac.

7:23 p.m. ::
prev :: next