Unravel Me

back to the beehive & then off to do an experiment.

2005-06-16
after posting last night's update, my lingering curiosity about brews & booze in the beehive state led me to hop onto google and look up utah's unique and curious liquor laws. haha, i forgot about this one, which my friend (the one featured in yesterday's entry) told me about, that states:
"Servers are not allowed to solicit or suggest drinks. Patrons must request a wine list or drink menu."
said friend told me that instead of saying "drink", most servers in utah would say "beverage" as "drink" supposedly connotes alcohol and servers don't want to be seen as promoting alcohol use, or pushing drinks on customers.

that said, there is also an article about how some of the best beers are found not far from the wasatch mts., or the great salt lake. it mentions "st. provo girl", the famed play on the "st. pauli girl" name. i first heard of provo girl from my co-worker, ellen, who once lived in idaho's mormon country, and said that surprisingly, they had some decent beers. perhaps they concentrate more on perfecting flavor than alcohol content out there. or as this article states, perhaps the legendary weakness of utah beer really is part myth or exaggeration. does anyone want to try a "polygamy porter"? remember that you're allowed to have as many as you want! and at 3.2% max, it's do-able (even for me)!

in other news, whee, i am kind of excited. i've just discovered a way to use flickr to post images here (and also shrink them so their display isn't so gigantic)! which is good, because yesterday, i did an experiment of sorts. woohoo! it should make for a "different" diary entry from my usual, but i can't tell you what it is, yet. it will take time for me to upload pictures first, and then go from there. so bear with me and come back when i post it (whenever that may be).

1:45 p.m. ::
prev :: next