Unravel Me

life in pictures: a day in the life...

2005-06-17
OK, here it is! i'm excited b/c this is the experiment i mentioned yesterday involving flickr. its a 1st-time trial, so bear with me. i guess it'll be cool if you like something a little different. or maybe it's not an original idea after all, but whatever, it new for me. so the following entry captures a day�albeit an ordinary one** in the life of�yours truly. only, it's illustrated in photos. and yes, one of them contains me.
[Hint: click on the images for larger versions as shown over at flickr].

Wednesday June 15, 2005

7:45 a.m. � Rise & Shine!
wake-up alarm

8:55 a.m. -- 1st Stop: The Hospital. Eye Appointment Before Work.
Crazy! The primary care parking garages fill up by 9am. I snag a space�but on the top level of the deck. What? No shade!? It's supposed to be 95 degrees today, and I hate coming out to a hot car and a steering wheel that burns my hands.
health-sciences parking garage

10:06 a.m. � Sitting at Intersection, Leaving University Health Sciences Complex
Do I turn left onto Jefferson Park Avenue and go back home? Boy, I'm tempted to skip out of work, but alas, I must turn right and head downtown towards the office.
JPA street sign

But not w/o first getting my daily caffeine fix:
10:10 a.m. � Starbucks on the Corner, on University Avenue.
But it's hot, so it'll have to be *iced* coffee.
starbucks on the corner

10:16 a.m. � Rotunda
For a change, I'll take a long route to work. Actually it's a detour. I want to cut through the university just for the heck of it. This is the view of the famed rotunda as seen from University Avenue.
uva rotunda


11:10 a.m. � A Quick Mid-Morning Shot of My Office
It looks like today won't be too bad. No client appointments scheduled for today. I'll catch up on some case notes and other stuff. (Shh! It's confidential, and governed by HIPAA).
office 1


12:50 p.m. � Lunch. Mmm. Looks good, doesn't it? Well it was delicious!
lunch salad

3:22 p.m. � Mid-afternoon Pile-up of Work.
Oops, I lied! I spoke too fast. See that stack of client case files that miraculously appeared on my desk over the past few hours? Can I whittle it down by 5pm?
stack of cases


5:13 p.m. � Time To Go Home! Yay! (WHEW!) I finished my work by 5:15. Not bad.
end-of-workday


5:47 p.m. � Evening Commute. Almost home! Whoo, look at that glaring sun! Boy am I glad I'm wearing sunglasses.
evening commute


5:50 p.m. � Approaching My Building.
apartment

5:51 p.m. � Side View Mirror Shot.
See? That's me! I couldn't let this day go by w/o taking at least one mirror shot, which seems to be all the rage lately:
side view mirror portrait

5:54 p.m. � At last! I've pulled into my parking space. I'm home!*(note my clock is fast. it says 5:57).
my parking space

5:57 p.m. � Check Mail.
mailboxes


5:58 p.m. � My Hallway The view as I exit the elevators & turn left towards my apt.
hallway

6:02 p.m. � View of Apartment Complex Pool From My Balcony
It was 95 degrees. Forget going to the indoor pool to swim laps. Forget the triathlon training today--I'm gonna go down there and splash around and cool off for a little while.
apt. pool

7:40 p.m. � Look Into My Fridge. Forage For Dinner.
well-stocked fridge

8:45 p.m. � Time For a Special Treat! (NO, I didn't eat the whole pint, sillies!)
ice cream

9:59 p.m. � Wednesday Night TV Let's hear it for "Sex & the City" re-runs on TBS!
wednesday night tv

11:52 p.m. � Brush Teeth. Get Ready For Bed.
toothbrush & paste

12:02 a.m. � Lights Out!
lights out

**END NOTES: Yeah I chose a "boring", uneventful day. But there you have it: a peek into my life. When it comes right down to it, aren't most of our everyday lives comprised of the mundane, little things? I certainly lived more consciously and "in the moment" on Wednesday. It's crazy how a project like this made me more aware, and even appreciative, of the small things and tiny moments that are so often ignored when one is busy. I just might try this again one day in black & white, or hour by hour, or something new & improved.

10:10 a.m. ::
prev :: next