Unravel Me

they say it's your birthday...

2005-05-13
well, this is it: my last entry as a 30-year-old! this weekend (sunday), i'll turn 31! isn't it the best, when your birthday falls on a weekend? and isn't it even better when the celebration is extended into multiple celebrations? let the good times roll! i'm all for week-long birthday festivities�something i only discovered last year at my big 3-0.

it's only 3pm on friday, but i skipped out of the office early, so the good times have already begun! this morning, when i got to work, i found my co-worker debbie had made me some delicious strawberry shortcake (one of my all-time favorite desserts in the world). everyone sang me "happy birthday" when i walked in to blow out the candles. tonight, my family gathers here for a weekend celebration together, featuring more cake, great food, and perhaps a road-trip or two! later next week: even more cake, a full eat-on, and drinks with friends. and SO, i'll soon be a hip 31 with all the womanly sophistication it implies. now don't you think it's time for me to experience many more good things and new adventures? 'cuz time sure won't stand still.

yesterday, i smiled & reminisced back 10 years to my 21st birthday. it was 1995. i was finishing my junior year of college, soaking up liberal-arts knowledge in scenic western massachusetts (NOTE: "western" to native bostonians really means anything west of boston or worcester, even though mt. holyoke is actually in the center of the state)! it was final exam week on campus. a few acquaintances commented, "oh, man, that sucks that your 21st b-day is during finals! guess you can't celebrate then, eh?".

i could see that look of pity/sympathy in their eyes when they nodded and smiled and probably pictured me huddled in a library carrel, craving beer or vodka shots, but being forced to sit and memorize lines from chaucer's "canterbury tales" on my 21st birthday. but i told them not to fear. see, the perk of being an english/american literature major was that i'd knocked out all required math/science credits by the end of sophomore year. that meant the majority of my classes required final papers and essays (albeit 20-page ones), rather than in-class exams. and so that evening involved the consumption of a decent amount of rum, a cake from one of my favorite markets, and a treat from some friends: a trip to northampton brewery for my first legal drink. that night, i remember (and yes, despite the alcohol, i remember that night clear as a bell) i ordered a "northampton pale ale", and what later became my favorite, "raspberry brown ale". and being oddly disappointed that our cute blonde server didn�t card me so i could wave my ID in the air and proclaim my new 21-ness.

but the other day? i was carded whilst buying kahlua at the liquor store, so go figure. i guess there'll be chances to prove my 31-ness. without further adieu, THIRTY-ONE HERE I COME! for now, i'm outta here and will catch you next week on the other side of 31!

3:42 p.m. ::
prev :: next