Unravel Me

steaming, streaming, backnobber

2004-09-23

steaming, streaming, backnobber�

the bioterrorist is here again today, but forget my previous entry�s snark. i will not let anything bother me today! i�ve got a steaming cup of honey lemon green tea on my desk, and my office door is closed so i can update my case notes w/o fear of catching SARS or needing a protective mask. if that fails to keep me healthy and happy, i�ll head to the kitchenette and brew a steaming cup of tea with the chinese herbs my acupuncturist recommended. they�re bitter as hell, but i�ll overlook that if they make me stronger. i also like myra-lee�s tactic for boosting immunity: eating garlic. (yay for me, i�m making homemade pesto from scratch, tonight)! and if all that fails to keep me happy and sane, i�ll just get myself a soy latte or soy chai at the mudhouse (which happens to be one of the best local coffeeshops). and while i type these pesky case notes like a mad woman, i just may click & listen to a streaming audio broadcast on either WNRN, which is a local radio station, or KEXP, which is a lot like WNRN. i discovered KEXP during summer vacation a couple of years ago.

the fact that i had physical therapy this morning before work isn�t hurting my mood, either. my PT sees how much progress i�ve made since the accident and now she�s prescribed exercises to do at home or even here at work. the best thing is that the exercises will also be preventative, and help me maintain good posture even after the healing is complete. today, she introduced me to the original backnobber, an acu-pressure device which should help get the kinks out of my back or anywhere that hurts. it�s so nice that she didn�t try to make a sales pitch to pressure me to buy it from the physical therapy center�s store (it�s available there for $40). instead, she encouraged me to search for better deals online. she�s also cool b/c she�s so open-minded towards alternative/complementary healing methods like acupuncture, massage, etc., and she incorporates those theories into her physical therapy practice. she suggested i either search for the backnobber on Amazon, since they carry a growing number of health products/devices, or that i look at some oriental medicine/acupuncture supply company websites. tonight, after chopping up some basil and making my fabulous homemade pesto for dinner, i will get online and do just that. i�ll be sure to let you know what my search comes up with.

but for now, it's back to work.
2:45 p.m. ::
prev :: next