Unravel Me

well whad'ya know? i' m just stitchin', bitchin' & trendy!

2004-09-20
well whad�ya know? i�m just stitchin�, bitchin� & trendy!

hope you had fun w/ my friend quiz. if not, go take it. (shame on anyone who misses the last item)! anyway, despite the downpours and tornado watch, i safely made it to my parents house on Friday evening. but there were two bad accidents on I-64, including one at the now infamous mile marker 103.2. it made me so upset and tense, so it was a relief to finally pull into their driveway. my weekend was lovely. fall is in the air! the summer-fall transition is always hard for me, but i enjoy autumn. cool weather equals knitting/crocheting season. yay!

y�all might not see me as esp. trendy, but guess what? last winter i suddenly realized that i just might be a trend-setter! while scanning diaries of fellow members of the knitting diaryring and similar blogs, i noticed that i was actually much more experienced than many knitter-bloggers. it could be that i�m older than many of them. but it might be that am just more seasoned/advanced. either way, it's true i can do some bad-ass shit with my needles since i've been at it for a while. (BUT, i remain humble, as i desperately need to learn �fair isle� technique in order to make a gorgeous snowflake patterned sweater this winter). ambidexterity is supposedly an asset in fair isle, so maybe i�m in luck!

as for my newly discovered trendiness, i think i simply knew a good thing before it caught on. i first discovered knitting in 3rd grade. really! see, my mom bought me my first needles and crochet hooks for christmas in 1982. she taught me the basics, which i enjoyed. unfortunately, my ambi-handedness frustrated her so she gave up. then, in �99, while in grad school, (lupus fatigue) first debilitated me. frustrated at my inability to remain as physically active, i suddenly re-discovered the joys of making things w/ yarn. i needed something tangible to hold on to when it felt like i couldn�t count on anything else (not even my body), and it brought me incredible joy to make something w/ my own hands and watch it grow. my hobby evolved into an addiction, and what i think is the best form of procrastination. if that makes me hip, then all the better!

by 2000, i was seeing magazine and news articles about an upsurge in knitting among young people, w/ the craze sweeping through college campuses like wildfires. this UCLA daily bruin article is a recent example. some people even attribute knitting�s newfound popularity to September 11th and people�s subsequent need to feel secure and domestic (!). to think i initially got teased (good naturedly) for my hobby like it was some weird, introverted, granny activity! haha. guess who gets the last laugh now? i�m sort of sad to see none of you kids are knitters (i.e. diaryring members). join me--it�s never too late to jump on the knitting bandwagon, �cuz you�re missing out on some sexy wool! if it�s trendy and hip, then bring on the sexy shawls and cardigans! knitting is no longer for the librarians, though if i were one, i guess i�d be a lipstick librarian. heh!

4:48 p.m. ::
prev :: next