Unravel Me

ticklish: a prescription for my funny bone

2004-06-02
tickled: a prescription for my funny bone...

i'm still around. just super busy. but i'm all caught up on my diary reads. memorial day weekend was fabulous. i'm all about long weekends!

i finally had acupuncture again yesterday. dr. glick, my acupuncturist, is back from his month-long travels through china and tibet. he's such a wonderful person--so interesting, well-traveled, and full of humor, wisdom, warmth and compassion. and of course he's a great practitioner. what's more, he's active in local theater--he and his brother-in-law perform comedy as a duo! no wonder he has such a great reputation among his patients. i think there's no doubt i respond well to acupuncture. and perhaps acupuncture is a prescription for my funny bone...

you see, b/c i hadn't seen him in over a month, he palpated various areas to figure out his treatment plan. he's also great b/c he takes time to explain what he's doing in an easy-to-understand way. and i'm always amazed that he has a knack of knowing what hurts before i even say anything. it's almost like magic.

well, anyone who knows me knows i'm *extremely* ticklish. as dr. glick palpated my abdomen, i started laughing hard. as i did, he said my ticklishness there signaled a need to treat what he referred to as "spleen points" for a deficiency/imbalance. WHO KNEW?! who knew my ticklishness could guide my acupuncture treatments?! i think that's pretty wild... so, given what he said, i asked him if acupuncture could "cure" my ticklishness. the answer? in theory, yes. unfortunately he said this would take years because the imbalances run so deep. oh well. it didn't hurt to ask.

too bad i didn't have any brothers growing up. i'm sure they'd have had a field day with me and my ticklish self. oh, wait...my sister and my friends sure did have a field day!

7:26 p.m. ::
prev :: next