Unravel Me

goironmo: h.s. friend-turned-ironwoman athlete (& blogger)!

2004-04-24
goironmo: h.s. friend-turned-ironwoman athlete (& blogger)!

my mom is sweet! she's so proud of my awesome finish in the 4K! i told her as soon as i have a remission and get a green light from my doctor and acupuncturist, i'll do a marathon or triathlon. (i lean toward the latter b/c it involves my first-love sport, swimming). i said my goal was to do it before i'm 40. she went: "40?!?! why not 35??" and went on to say she admires my strong will, and that she thinks i'll have a remission, and she & dad and my sis will fully support my goal b/c i've always been the family's "little athlete". i was so moved.

so i went online and was reading about california's wildflower triathlon when i stumbled upon the webpage & training blog of my high school friend, Maureen! how crazy & random is that? i remember maureen as so bright but down-to-earth. we were both professors' daughters. we both ran track. we were among four from our graduating class to head to massachusetts after h.s., and we were the only two to go on to Seven Sister schools (me to mt. holyoke, maureen to wellesley). we both became english majors. we stayed in touch throughout college, then lost contact after our respective graduations: she moved west to denver via poughkeepsie, new york and i began grad school.

apparently, she now lives and works in san francisco and is currently training for ironman canada via the famed team-in-training. and...evidently she's a blogger! her webpage, http://goironmo.org, has a link to her triathlon training diary at goironmo1.blogspot.com. check it out--i skimmed some of her diary and learned that her dad has had lymphoma twice, giving her training personal meaning. the nickname "mo" is new and made me laugh, as NO ONE in high school called her that! i agree 100% with her blog blurb on biking w/o helmets (but i'll save that for my own entry sometime)!

hey do you guys think i can do a tri before i'm 35? 40?...or never? (on second thought, don't answer that!).

11:03 p.m. ::
prev :: next