Unravel Me

silence isn't golden

2003-10-14
silence isn't golden...

ouch. my stomach is killing me right now... so i'm sitting here awake, ruminating, and attempting to problem-solve. here's the deal:

i *love* home-made mix cd's. unfortunately, most of my home burned cd's don't play in my stereo's cd player. they just spin around and around. so i have to listen to them on my computer. it's mostly ok, but inconvenient at times, and a little frustrating. at any rate, i've been looking into it and the only possible explanation is this:

blank data cd's aren't as reflective as store bought audio cd's. so computer cd players are more sensitive in order to read data cd's, while stereo cd players aren't because they were designed to play store bought audio cd's. so it follows that a home burned cd won't play in a regular stereo b/c it's not reflective enough.

there's some debate over what color blank cd's work best in stereos (color, meaning the color of the reflective side of the cd). i read somewhere that cd's with a blue, gold, or blue-green reflective side work best in stereos, as well as name brand ones.

hmmm... well it turns out that none of my memorex cd's play in my stereo. my sony ones do occasionally. i was at staples the other day and saw a pack of maxell cd's and they're gold, so maybe they won't be silent. maybe i should buy them? because maybe that reflectivity theory is correct? maybe some of you have experienced the same thing?

because, ya know, if you have, you know that silence isn't golden: i wanna listen to my music.

12:54 a.m. ::
prev :: next