Unravel Me

changing colors

2003-09-30
changing colors...

lately, i dislike "signmyguestbook", but so be it....ANYWAY, remember how i mentioned that september isn't my favorite month? remember how i was bummed out this weekend to learn from an online quiz that i'm winter? it's true, i have trouble with the shift to colder weather and change of seasons. yet, today, for a moment, i remembered how much i used to love autumn when i lived in the northeast. you have to live in new england to truly appreciate the beauty of fall. there is nothing quite like autumn in new england, with the spectacular foliage, warm apple cider, pumkin carving, knitting sweaters, and so much more. i laugh when i think about how i used to be addicted to maple candy--the pure sugar used to have me bouncing off the walls. that and cider donuts.

an old friend sent me an e-mail that reminded me of how much i used to love hiking in massachusetts each year. every fall, where i lived and went to school, we had a holiday called "mountain day". it was always a surprise and no one would know which day it was until it was announced in the morning. classes would be cancelled and everyone would head for the mountains nearby. oh how i loved it. it's all so long ago but today it all came back to me and made me smile.

soon, the leaves will change colors. sometimes that makes me a little bit sad, because it represents change and loss. but today i was reminded of how pretty this time of the year can be, even if i am more of a cherry blossom, springtime kind of girl.

speaking of color changes, you may be interested to hear that this weekend...i saw my first gray hair. but just one! (the rest of my hair is still black--or if you want to be technical, it's not black but very very very dark brown). anyhow i pulled that sucker out. as far as i know, premature graying doesn't run in my family. there is also a saying that people with my ethnic heritage tend to look young and not age quickly. maybe this was just one and i won't see another for many years. me? gray? i hope not. i'm only 29!

1:51 p.m. ::
prev :: next