Unravel Me

official; valuable lessons (seattle update #2)...

2003-07-24
official, valuable lessons...(seattle update #2)

well it's official. i'm registered for the 5K swedish summerun race for ovarian cancer this weekend.

given my recent setback, i had to be realistic and decided to walk instead of run. my doctor, acupuncturist, and several people close to me advised me to walk. they think that although i'm certainly capable of running, my condition isn't stable enough to do it competitively. as much as that hurts and humbles me, i have to acknowledge that they're right.

life isn't just about being able to run a 6 minute mile anymore, as nice as that may be. maybe i can learn a valuable lesson that reflects how i've had to live my life recently, and how i should live my life. walking instead of running can teach me that slow and steady can still win the race.

this experience can teach me that what matters most is that i set a goal for myself and see it through to completion no matter how slow or quick the process is. if i put my mind to it, i can do (almost) anything, even if my route is longer and more circuitous. i know maybe that all sounds so dumb and ridiculous, but maybe they're important words for me to live by and they can make me a happier person. patience, and perseverence are the words of the day.

******************************

i've been going full speed all this week. i've been out most of the day and hardly had a moment to sit still, so i *really* need some downtime to recharge my batteries. i'm just incredibly wiped out. and the coming week is going to be so busy w/ packing & moving. DON'T. EVEN. GO. THERE.

but i still hope to enjoy everything: like kayaking tomorrow afternoon. or sailing. not sure i'll go hiking saturday, as i want to save up energy for sunday morning's race.

later.

10:47 a.m. ::
prev :: next