Unravel Me

hello from seattle (seattle update #1)

2003-07-22
hello from seattle...(seattle update #1)

i'm updating this from seattle. my online access is hit-or-miss this week, as this isn't my computer. wow! i'm not really sure where to begin. all i can say is that i couldn't have chosen a better time of the year to visit. and everything is as i remember it last year. some highlights so far:

1) drank two bottomless glasses of wine (red and white each) on the flight out here b/c i upgraded my ticket to business class.

2) saw the sun set over the city from highland (?) drive on queen anne hill. so very pretty.

3) ikea

4) sat in bottleneck traffic during this evening's rush hour. ugh. we thought we could outsmart it by avoiding I-5 and going around up 405 and coming into seattle by doing a reverse commute on evergreen point or I-90. oh boy were we wrong.

5) was told i have a slight southern accent by one of my sister's friends. grrr!!! it may be funny to them, but it's not so funny to me. it makes me feel all self-conscious now but my sister said i shouldn't feel so bad and that it's not that big a deal.

6) i'm still on east coast time. so last night my jet lag combined with a super strong drink that was something like 98% tequila/vodka and 2% strawberries. yeah... i think you get the idea.

7) sat on alki beach for a while today to enjoy the view. ate rainier (golden) cherries, and local island grown raspberries from either whidbey or bainbridge (i think, but can't remember which).

8) and oh my god: i actually called kristin! i'm so glad i did! i went with my instincts and it was the right thing to do. last summer when i was out here for a month, i totally regretted not getting in touch w/ her. i hadn't talked to her since 1996, so i thought she probably wouldn't remember me. that was stupid because of course she remembered me! and it was just wonderful and amazing and all that....

9) right now i'm trying to decide where the best place to go for brunch is. possibilities include: coastal kitchen which is i think near either capitol hill or the u-district but i can't remember, jitterbug cafe (in wallingford, i think), five spot (queen anne), and a place in fremont called the long shoreman's daughter. the latter is one i can't find much info online for.

anyway, as i get ready to call it a day, i'm in a great mood! aren't you jealous? and now don't you just wish you were in seattle?! i guess it's just too bad you aren't. goodnight.

9:50 p.m. ::
prev :: next