Unravel Me

the check's in the mail, broken promises, forget-me-not

2003-07-10
the check's in the mail, broken promises, forget-me-not...

i'm quite pleased, b/c i got a *big fat check* in the mail today from my undergrad alma mater: "pay to the order of emeraldtiger". *sweet*! now do i deposit or cash it? i figure i should have some cash on me in seattle/denver, so i can afford to buy more shoes at nordstrom, go sailing, eat at wild ginger, or whatever. i suppose i could put it all on plastic. they raised my credit line and all my cards are now platinum. speaking of $$$, HOW SILLY AM I!?!?

background info: i'm a volunteer alumni class agent. so i get to hit everyone up for annual fund gifts. it's actually fun, since i'm only assigned 12 people. the head class agents usually let you pick who you want to call each year so i obviously try to pick those i'm friends with, or whom i think will give based on their history and giving prospects. it's less awkward and less effort. i still end up with some people on my list that i never knew in school. they're the ones i dread having to contact. being phone shy, just imagine how i *hate* cold-calling strangers. i feel like a telemarketer or slick salesperson whenever i have to resort to the aggressive foot-in-the-door technique. this year was bad: getting donations was like pulling teeth. ugh. BUT OH, WHO AM I TO TALK??

[okay now i really am getting to my point--here's why i'm silly]

see, class agents are required to make and fulfill pledges early in the year so peers presumably follow suit. unfortunately, my pledges have gone unfulfilled for the past two years. i fully intended to participate, but my promises were broken for two silly reasons:

1)last summer was hectic and i was out west. (i went to school back east). on fri june 28th i remembered it was the last day to fulfill my $25 pledge, so i called my alma mater's development office. alas, i forgot the time zone difference and it was too late. it was 2:30pm where i was, but 5:30pm back east so the office was closed and the fiscal year would end that weekend. crap!

2)as for this year, don't laugh! remember how i like gardening? well once, i waited until may to donate. that spring, the development office had a clever annual gift campaign reminder: they sent a packet of "forget-me-not" seeds and a card saying time was running out & don't forget to give. well this year, i stupidly waited to see if they'd send me some "forget-me-not" seeds.

they didn't.

and indeed i forgot.

11:06 p.m. ::
prev :: next