Unravel Me

duck territory: a special place

2003-06-26
duck territory: a special place...

oh wow. i just realized that exactly a year ago this evening, i arrived in this town after leaving the sf bay area that morning. we stayed overnight and toured here the next morning/day before hitting the road again.

i cannot tell you how special it was to see my dad's alma mater. it was my first time there, so i was in awe. in fact, last august, my parents went back there for the first time since he graduated and he said it had changed so much and was unrecognizable. his commencement was held at the old hayward athletic field, the same place where he shook john f. kennedy's hand when he stopped there on a presidential campaign stop! now i think all major events there are held at the newly built autzen stadium. to this day, my dad has remained an avid ducks sports fan!

anyway, i thought oregon was beautiful. it was my first time in that region--the northwest--so the picturesque landscape truly took my breath away. in fact, the drive reminded me of "tamarack pines" from george winston's "forest" cd, inspired by his childhood in western montana.

for a glimpse of what the drive was like, go check out this page. [disclaimer: you have to look at it during daylight i.e. after sunrise/before sunset or it will be disappointing].

10:56 p.m. ::
prev :: next