Unravel Me

gray box; green thumb; drowning in beer

2003-05-10
gray box; green thumb; drowning in beer...

i've written a lot this week. at times, i think it would be easier if my diary were like a totally anonymous gray box with words: no need to censor and filter my thoughts, right? well, if what i saw in the above gray box diary a couple of weeks ago is true, even that writer felt the need to hold back. i don't know. go figure.

it's getting late. i need some sleep if i have any hope of getting up early enough to get to the city farmer's market tomorrow. i need to find a mint plant, and some basil. and some flowers. and maybe a strawberry plant, which is something i've never done before. oh, how i'd love to have my own sweet strawberries growing right out on my sunny balcony!

this year i want to outsmart those voraciously hungry slugs. not only did they eat up some flowers i planted last year at my parent's house. i wish they'd leave my herbs alone! they're meant for *my* salads, and lovely italian, vietnamese or thai dishes. [in truth i don't cook all that much so i'm really just fantasizing about the above...and maybe this year it'll no longer be all talk].

in any case, damn slugs go away. cruel-irony knows what i'm talking about. my trick: i usually bait them with a bowl of stale beer. they love beer so if i set it out, instead of going towards my plants, they'll slither into the beer and drown. and maybe it sounds mean, but i do derive some degree of pleasure in seeing them die that way. slugs. bah!

heh! drowning in beer.....(NO--not ME drowning in beer....i'm talking about the slugs)! no, it's been a long, long time since i did a "drink 'til you sink". *laughing out loud*

12:34 a.m. ::
prev :: next