Unravel Me

cherry blossom season

2003-04-01
cherry blossom season...

after all the technical problems today, i'm re-doing this entry as well.

unfortunately, on the way back from baltimore, i didn't have a chance to go into dc and stop by the tidal basin to see the cherry blossoms. it's a shame because they're so amazing. my dad told me that the japanese word for cherry blossoms is "sakura". now that makes sense to me because, there is a japanese restaurant here in town called sakura, and their logo is a cherry blossom.

if you've never been to washington, dc during cherry blossom season, you're really missing out on one of the best treats of spring. the trees are so beautiful in a delicate, ephemeral way. it brings back a lot of good memories for me...memories of my childhood, when we'd take weekend trips up there. i've never actually been to the cherry blossom festival itself, but taking in the sights, sounds, and springtime warmth are good enough for me.

11:30 p.m. ::
prev :: next