Unravel Me

just some updates

2003-01-26
just some updates...

okay, okay: i've resorted to stealing other people's words to express myself (see previous). yes maybe that's lowly, unoriginal, uncreative behavior. and so i'm back to my own boring, unexciting words. without further adieu here are my updates:

1)now there are less than 2 hrs. to the super bowl. go raiders! (it's random & arbitrary since i'm from neither tampa nor oakland)

2)the internet was down this weekend here and is only now working again...[all b/c some bastards sent out that worm or whatever it was that gummed up the web!]

3)i'm finding it unexpectedly hard to come off of that cough syrup with codeine. i meant to take it for a wk. at most, but now it's been over 2 wks. and since the bottle is almost empty, i'm tempted to get another prescription for it since it helps esp. at night--man, it makes me sleep like a baby! at the same time, i don't think i should get more b/c it's potent--equivalent to vicodin or lortab. anyone care to give me their opinion on the matter?

4)people who've been reading me a while know that i've been unable to shake off what i thought was a cold since dec. 20th. well here's some news: the doctor suspects it's actually a mild, low-grade case of pneumonia. i may need to get antibiotics tomorrow. pneumonia!?!?!? ack! are my defenses that compromised?!

5)oh my, i seriously am concerned about another diaryland member after reading their latest entry. you know, some things happen for reasons we can't always explain. but there's a reason nonetheless. it was w/ a random click that i encountered this diary and got so drawn in. it's brilliant, raw, beautiful, honest, powerful, but sad writing. what can i say? i wish she'd seek out help or at least hang in there if for no other reason than the fact a lot of people here on diaryland care about her and most importantly, that her teenage daughter needs her. in my humble opinion, if she does anything to herself, it will scar her daughter for life. you never stop needing your mom, even if it's in different ways from when you were a kid.

given my wish to keep my real life name off-limits at least for now, i still wrestle with if it was the right move to reach out to her. then i remember that i'm 99.9% sure i managed to successfully change my e-mail headers to only show (emeraldtiger) and feel confident w/ my decision. this tori amos quote says it all:

"when you stop putting yourself on the line, and you don't touch your own heart, how can you expect to touch other people?"

6)speaking of teenagers, i finally came upon a journal i've been looking for since last week. i'm almost certain it's the one i wanted to find for reasons i won't get into here. probably no one cares anyway, and for anyone wondering why: sorry if it all sounds cryptic. i am in awe.....i didn't know someone half my age could write so well--a 14 year old! if i hadn't seen her member profile, i'd never have guessed her age! it again leaves me speechless.

on that note, there are no words left in me at the moment. so: "cheers! enjoy the game!" to those of you who plan to watch and party. i'm off to have a beer.

4:25 p.m. ::
prev :: next