Unravel Me

I Feel The Earth Move.

2011-08-23
Holy crazy shit! I go away and something earth-shaking really does happen back home: a 5.9 magnitude earthquake centered about 30 miles east of where I live. But Facebook is lit up with updates from my friends from Virginia all the way north to Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and NYC talking about about the 30 full seconds of shaking.

I am away on vacation, and am hoping my friends back home on the East Coast are all ok. I also really hope nothing glass or ceramic that I own fell and broke at my house. I guess I'll know when I get home this weekend. Hopefully I'm not returning to torrential rain from Hurricane Irene.

This is a much needed vacation and I'll tell you more when I get back. In short, think about things like the Aspen Music Festival and my new longing to teach myself how to play a string instrument like the violin or the cello. Think about a gorgeous and talented musician and prodigy named Sarah Chang. Think about beautiful mountains and dry clean air and stunning hiking trails studded by amazing rock formations and crystal clear lakes and aspen trees with their trademark white bark and rounded green leaves (leaves that will turn a stunning yellow in about a month). Picture me getting reacquainted with my bike after more time than I'd like to admit being away from it--enough time to feel like my bike seat was way too high even though it probably isn't and to feel scared about my feet not touching the ground even though that's the way it's supposed to be once you graduate from a kids bike to a grown-up bicycle. I've been away from biking long enough to realize that I did my first triathlon in 2005 not knowing all of the proper tricks and techniques of cycling (but I completed the race back then and didn't crash!). It feels great to get back on a bicycle, btw, and fyi, pedaling and riding is the easy part. It's the other techniques that teach me that I am a biking novice and never realized how much of one I was even though I did my hotshot triathlon and own a pretty bike whose tires went flat and stayed flat while the bike lay dormant throughout my Ph.D. program as I hit the books big time.

Think about how I am not in my office and how liberating it is to turn on the "out-of-office" auto-replay on my work e-mail account. It's nice to unplug and get away.

I also want you all to know that I made a huge decision regarding what I was torn about in my previous entry about the job at the well-known research university in the midwest. I'll tell you more about it later though, when I am no longer on vacation. Long story short, it was absolutely, most definitely the right decision for me and although there might be some people who might think I'm crazy for it, I know it was the right thing to do because 1,000,000 weights lifted off of my shoulders once the decision was made.

And that is that. I'll catch you later for sure! xoxo,

2:56 p.m. ::
prev :: next