Unravel Me

Fragility

2009-12-14
Remember how I was blindsided by the news that I have bilateral tibial stress fractures? Well maybe I shouldn't have been so shocked.

Bone density scan results: Osteopenia. The recommendation: work with endocrinologist who specializes in bone metabolism to figure out why this is. It doesn't make sense. I'm 35. And, it's not like I'm some 75 pound anorexic gymnast who hasn't menstruated in years. I've been on birth control since college, which is supposed to help strengthen bones. And it's not like I don't exercise and eat right. One thing my fridge is almost always stocked with is yogurt. Lots of it.

What on earth did I not do right/am I not doing right? I have made an especially ramped-up effort since my late 20's to take Vitamins and Calcium supplements, eat yogurt and other Calcium rich foods, and to do weight-bearing exercises, like lifting weights and running and walking and the kinds of things that prevent rather than leave you in a position to have to remediate.

I really can't believe it.

But you know what? As worrisome and frustrating and surprising as this all is, I am seriously trying to promise myself that I'm NOT going to let it ruin my whole day or get me down, or I'll never be productive. There are many, many things to look forward to with Christmas and winter break fast approaching. But first, there's tons of work to do this week before heading west.

You know what one of my favorite smells on earth is right now? That of my fraser fir wreath, and simmering hot Chai spices. And if you know me, then you know that once December 1 hits, the Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack cd goes into my car cd player and doesn't come out until the holidays are over.

OK. Chai is ready.

11:09 a.m. ::
prev :: next