Unravel Me

North-By-Northwest-Bound

2009-08-06
Arrived in Colorado last night. Tornado sirens are going off, and it's stormy now, as it often is on any given late summer afternoon in what is supposedly the westernmost edge of "Tornado Alley". Right now, I'm trying to alternately work on my comps, and on projects for my both of my med school assistantships.

My heart is fluttering right now, because as we speak, I'm starting to feel panicky and stressed, as I'm in the middle of taking comprehensive exams this summer, and they seem huge and monstrous right now. They seem even more gigantic when I see deadlines and realize that taking comps really means I'm about to start writing my dissertation (as long as the comps go well and I "pass" them). Maybe I should have all the answers now, but there's a huge part of me that feels just as insecure as when I came back to school three years ago--like basically "what the hell am I doing?!?". The prospects of having little geographic flexibility in the job market (esp. if I look at academic jobs), and of graduating into a bad economy (if I actually do finish by next May) does not help. Ugh.

On a different note, my racing heart is also from excitement about my upcoming trip to Vancouver and Victoria with my family for a few days. Late Saturday afternoon, I expect to be speeding up I-5 toward the Canadian border after landing at the Seattle airport, and renting a car and stopping at one of many possible favorite lunch spots in the Emerald city before heading North. (Honestly, if I can have my way, I'll choose to have fish tacos at Agua Verde Paddle Club). My sister and I would love to introduce Agua Verde to my parents, as they haven't spent as much time as we have, in the Northwest (well at least not in recent years, for my Dad).

But you don't need me to tell you that there are many other great lunch (and coffee!) spots if the paddle club lunch doesn't work out. You probably already know that I love the northwest, and it's been several years since I was last out that way. Living in Seattle for one summer will do that to you--it will draw you into that region's charm*.(*...at least in summer--I've never been there in winter, so it's certainly possible that the cloudy winters might make me wish for heavy medication to get through September through May there, but I also say that half jokingly). Nonetheless, the Northwest generally has cast a similar spell on me as living in Massachusetts for college allowed New England to cast its magical spell on me, drawing me into its soft, subtle whispers and forested splendor.

So...about Vancouver: I visited once for a day of shopping (especially Lush bath products!) in July 2002, and loved it so much, but haven't been back since. So I'm excited as can be!!! Also, I've never been to Victoria, and am excited to see it for the first time and have high tea and do all there is to do there. As luck would have it, the August issue of the United airline magazine (Hemispheres) has an article about Victoria, so I held onto it, and will keep it handy in my bag as I travel north this weekend.

I am eager to get some great Asian food (like maybe dim sum?) in Vancouver. Also, there's this art district called Granville Island that I really liked the last time I visited, and I definitely want to go back. The last time I was there, I bought this gorgeous, green and black embroidered pillow cover at a place called Maiwa Hand Prints. My biggest regret after getting home to the East Coast was that I didn't get more than one. So a stop by that same store at Granville Island is definitely on my "to do" list. I think there will be a lot of "play it by ear". A trip to Whistler would also be awesome as well, if there's time. Finally, if I have time on the way back down to the airport, I want to stop somewhere along the way in Seattle for a meal, and to get a pound or two of good coffee to take back home w/ me, and some Rainier cherries or other local berries to enjoy on the plane ride back to Denver. All good things!

My passport and Vancouver/Victoria guide book are packed. As for clothes...it's been so hot there this summer I'm not sure what to pack yet. Maybe the things I'd normally wear back home in Virginia? I really hope it's not sweltering in Canada. Okay...Back to work on my comps--I'm trying to get a lot done so I can do less work on vacation. And if I'm super industrious tonight and tomorrow, I'd love to leave my computer here instead of lugging it to Canada with me. It's nice to enjoy a rare several days being completely unplugged, no?

4:39 p.m. ::
prev :: next