Unravel Me

Faded Denim & Bell Bottom Blues

2009-03-12
I've got a few questions for you ladies who might be reading this: Do you find shopping for jeans to be as bad as--or worse than--shopping for a swimsuit? Why is it so hard to find a decent pair of jeans? (By "decent", I mean well-fitting, reasonably priced, decently stylish). Do you know of a store that sells good jeans? (Do tell!).

Now, I recently mentioned this in passing over on my other blog. The truth is, I've been ruminating over the fact that I've had the denim blues for a while. Am I looking for imperfect jeans for a perfect body? NO! Being 5'2 already categorizes me as far from perfect, as I have to hem everything. Although I'm reasonably fit, I will never, ever have an hourglass figure because I lack the boobage to create symmetry. Therefore, much to my chagrin, I will always be your typical female pear.

Am I looking for the perfect jeans for an imperfect body? YES! The thing is, *who* are most of the jeans on the market are designed for, anyway? I mean, NO one is perfect. I get that. At the same time, it's not like my waist is so unsually thick or my ass so unusually curvy and huge that I shouldn't reasonably expect to find at least *one* acceptable pair of jeans. At least that's what I naively thought.

Where was I going with all of this? Oh, right, yes. The skinny jean. Why did these re-surface in the fashion world? I admit that I wore these back when they were in during the 80's. But that was then. What is with women who wear skinny jeans tucked into Ugg boots? Isn't it really an untenable look for most women whose thighs are wider than their biceps? At worst it makes you ass look huge, and at best, your feet look huge.

However, girl-friends, just when you thought jeans couldn't get any worse, you must check out these ultra-high-waist skinny jeans: they're horrible!

As for men in skinny jeans? Save that for another day.

10:25 p.m. ::
prev :: next