Unravel Me

Blinded by Science

2008-12-12
The past few weeks have had so many twists and turns in my research project, and (quite surprisingly, actually) a lot of emotional ups and downs. But I finally got the green light from my advisor to proceed. I guess that's the nature of science (or in my case, social science). I'm using data from a nationally conducted longitudinal study to investigate early childhood (age 6) predictors of gifted education enrollment by age 10, (which is surely more than you wanted to know!).

Science is all about testing hypotheses, and sometimes you find what you expect to find (and what existing literature leads you think you'll find), while other times you find unexpected, but significant/noteworthy findings, and that's what happened to me. I got some surprising results, meaning my computer will have to follow me on Christmas vacation/winter break, as i hunt down new articles to help me re-write and revise my literature review to support my findings. I had hoped to finalize this manuscript for publication, and submit it before i leave town on tuesday, but it just needs more time. Although it's a tough choice to have school stuff hanging over vacation, I'd rather do quality work than be sloppy and race against the clock just to get it done. If something is worth doing and putting my name on it, it's worth doing right, instead of half-assed.

I guess i'm thinking about this stuff right now b/c i went to my friend A's dissertation proposal defense yesterday, and she "failed" (though I hate to use that term) b/c only three out of her four faculty committee members signed off on her plan ). so she'll have to make extensive revisions and present her re-designed project again when that's done so that the 4th professor approves it. i felt bad for my friend b/c it was so emotionally draining for her, and she had worked so hard to get to this point so she can graduate this coming May. she's devastated that this tips her into either an August or December graduation (or possibly means a whole added year of school). needless to say, we (me and another friend) took care of her afterwards, and took her out for tea to help her calm down and vent and process everything.

i sat in on her defense (they're open to the public), both to support her, and b/c i wanted to see what the process is like before my time comes, and it was helpful, but also really scary! it's intimidating to see a panel of three or four professors close the door, put on their glasses, and intently listen to a student's presentation, and then grill and tear the student's work apart in the name of scientific rigor and research design. ugh. researchers are such snobs.

on a different and closing note, here's the gay re-make of the Rudolph The Rednosed Reindeer Dentist Elf Scene. fuckin' hilarious. i love the voices.

8:53 a.m. ::
prev :: next