Unravel Me

no need for a title. i'm procrastinating.

2008-09-25
hey, just stopping by while i take a break from working on a powerpoint for tomorrow. more on that in a minute, but first:

by now you've probably seen the "sarah palin baby name generator" that's been floating around online, on blogs and facebook. i didn't like the names it came up with for me. but i think i know the perfect name i'd give my baby if my last name were "Palin". how about Sycamore for a girl, and Sled, or maybe Hunter for a boy? what do you think?

tomorrow, i'll be presenting my current work-in-progress, i.e. my research project which is just that: a work in progress. *{taking deep breath}* and yes--i'm running a bunch of statistics as part of it. think good thoughts for me. these meetings are a helpful forum where you can get helpful feedback from other students and faculty. but these meetings (which i've sat in on before) scare me b/c some of the research scientists ask really hard questions. they really grill presenters on their methodology and bandy around fancy technical and statistical terms that i still have to refer to my textbooks from last year. but it's all going to be okay. my research focuses on giftedness. not that anyone asked.

i feel so, so bad for my sister right now. she was in chicago for a conference several days ago. the other day, when she was getting ready leave chicago and head out from the hotel to the airport via taxi, a psycho cabbie drove off with her luggage. yes. simply drove off with it. UNbelievable. and now, despite filing a report immediately, she's w/o her suitcase, and is mourning the loss of her ipod, camera, and favorite clothes/shoes that were all in that suitcase. tracking down stuff like that is like finding a needle in a haystack. it looks like the next time i see my sister (whenever that may be), we'll be going shopping. retail therapy is in order (emphasis on the word therapy).

11:03 p.m. ::
prev :: next