Unravel Me

all in one year

2006-08-14
hi. is this thing even on? does anyone still come here? i'm feeling guilty about how spotty my posts have been lately. what's ironic is that there's so much to say that i don't know where to start!

you see, i have really been going NON STOP for oh, about the past year! early last fall, after considerable wavering and debate, i decided i was ready for and serious about going back for my ph. d. so i put that in motion. in december, amidst all the uncertainty about where i'd be heading geographically, i also learned that my building "went condo" and i'd be forced to move even if i stayed in the area for school. april brought about the uncertainties of deciding between grad school acceptances. june saw me move to a sublet and then jet off to california and colorado just days later. july saw me back at home, tying up loose ends at the office and quitting work.

the summer has also been filled with numerous visits to my parents' house to help dad with his retirement and office move. funny how it corresponded to my leaving my job, no? emotions have been high and intense with all that's been happening, but there's been no time to sit down and process it here.

and now, it's finally and already august. first things first, this week, i'm finally moving out of my sublet--out of this condo-coversion hell hole, and into a brand new place!

other than that, yes, i've been enjoying unemployment, thankyouverymuch! school starts in a week (yay and yikes)! in my haste to make the most of what's left of this summer before classes start, d-land got put on the backburner.

there's more to write. for now, here's a short, condensed synopsis of the past couple weeks: went berry picking and wine tasting at a local blackberry farm/winery, went to the county fair, visited my parents, helped dad move out of his office, celebrated retirement, met with my new faculty advisor at uva to plan ahead for this year, had a cousin fly in from minneapolis to visit (she actually lives in north dakota), and finally, been taking many pictures.

will fill in the gaps later.

4:29 p.m. ::
prev :: next