Unravel Me

the red bull cherry has popped

2006-06-12
oops, i did it again. you know you're starting down a slippery slope of addiction when you go from being a Red Bull virgin, to having it twice in three days. (i know. red bull is SO britney spears). but desperate times call for desperate measures, as my stress-levels have been at an all-time high recently.

my co-workers might think i'm becoming a hardcore Red Bull junkie. apparently, so might the 21-ish year-old cashier who works at the store across the street from my office. this morning, i went in to buy a can for a quick fix before a dreaded meeting. she looked at me as i approached the cash register, carefully inspected the can, and said "So�like�do you�like�really use this stuff for the mind altering effect or�like�do you use it for energy?" she went on to talk about how she's had it with vodka, and how she knows of people who have had red bull parties. people say it tastes like cough syrup, and it does. but maybe it's not so bad compared to february's robotrip.

this past week/weekend, i moved into a sublet four floors up from my old place. in the process, i injured my hand & wrist and am now wearing a brace. in addition, i'm feeling frazzled and stressed. i'm still waiting on permanent housing arrangements for august. there are loose ends to tie at work. i've begun telling my clients/students i'm leaving my position. also, my finances are stretched. when i quit work later next month, i'll have no income while my rent more than doubles. (look for a housing-price rant appearing in this diary in the near future). and in two months, i'll have school expenses and new debt. finally, i need to think about buying a new car fairly soon.

it's awful to feel so unsettled this summer esp when summer has just begun. but between now and when school starts, i'll pretty much be living out of a suitcase and unpacking or fumbling around in boxes for my belongings. on top of it all, this as been an emotional time for me, and that took me by surprise. i think it's b/c of all that this move represents. draining, indeed.

BUT�i leave for san diego on thursday morning! for reals! cindy & i are flying out for daisy's wedding. after my california weekend comes a week colorado. despite the stress, good times are ahead.

7:03 p.m. ::
prev :: next