Unravel Me

forbidden purple coneflower, transition & cat in bag�

2005-01-27
oh me, oh my. is there such a thing as too much sleep? lately i've been prone towards excessive, narcoleptic napping b/c i'm so run-down.

SHH! i'm doing something i probably shouldn't: i'm drinking echinacea tea, b/c i've caught the icky cold going around here. everyone else uses echinacea, so what's wrong w/ it? my acupuncturist warned it could over-stimulate my immune system and cause a flare. neither dr. glick nor my rheumatologist recommends echinacea to patients with autoimmune conditions. alas, i don't know how else to repel germs and strengthen my immunity without over-activating it... maybe garlic, or zinc? (it still bugs me when co-workers come in sick or are insensitive enough to bring their sick kids in).

SO, we're almost a month into 2005, and i still feel the same as on new year's eve, when i said it felt like some exciting changes might be coming. last fall i made a big decision at work. sure enough, yesterday i learned about a major transition for me there: my client caseload is about to shift soon. in short: i'll be assigned to work w/ high school students. yikes! i've never worked w/ minors/adolescents! my experience as a counselor has primarily been with college-aged individuals & young-adults, so this should be interesting. all at once, i'm curious, excited, and apprehensive about going into the public school system to provide vocational rehab services to teens. {and to that, i exclaim, "whoa! whoa! whoa!"} (i'll definitely write more on it later).

in other unrelated news, i'm both cautiously optimistic AND "on pins & needles" about something else important. please just cross your fingers for me between now and march or april. boy, that sounds all "cat-in-the-bag" dosen't it? yeah maybe it does, because it is.

okay, now. bedtime!

11:47 p.m. ::
prev :: next