Unravel Me

warmth in my heart, elephant on my chest, & pain in my joints

2004-11-18
warmth in my heart, elephant on my chest & pain in my joints...


WARNING: if you ever get a UTI, do *NOT* take sulfamethoxazole (brand name "Bactrim"). all i'll say is that that antibiotic comes with some, er...very unpleasant side effects. trust me. but a good alternative is levaquin, which wins hands down.

so i'm leaving tomorrow to spend thanksgiving week w/ my family, and to celebrate my mom's birthday this weekend, when my fabulous sister comes in from denver. there will be eating, and the wine will flow freely as i think about all the things i'm thankful for in my life. if that doesn't warm one's heart, what can? boy do i need it...

...because today my heart is so heavy, i've felt like an elephant is sitting on my chest. i've never mentioned it here, but, my dad also has arthritis (autoimmune type, not the old-age type). he went into remission during his 20's, and it's been dormant for as long as i've been around. but this morning before work, my mom called and told me dad's having a terrible time with his knees, and that it looks like it's back. and so i rolled into my office with my face all messed up because it made me cry. it's tearing me up because for one, i know that kind of pain first-hand, and second, it's hard to see someone you love suffer--especially when it's a parent.

i won't get into details right now, but in short, the tendency for arthritis-related stuff is strong on both sides of my family and i'm living proof of that genetic legacy. i try hard to look at it philosophically most of the time and not be bitter about it. speaking of which, i'll be in baltimore on monday to see my rheumatologist at johns hopkins, so keep your fingers crossed that it goes smoothly.

lastly, mrs-roboto is my hero! see, this lovely, rad woman is thinking about doing this year's arthritis foundation's jingle bell run in her city. seriously, when i read that, i got a little tear in my eye. the 100+ forms of arthritis touch too many people's lives, and probably that of someone you know. so if there's one in the cities where the rest of you live, please think about participating b/c you'll have fun whether you walk it or run it.

if i don't update again tomorrow, then i'll talk to y'all after thanksgiving. be good. be happy. eat lots. bring on the pumpkin pie. and whatever you do, be sure to drink a lot. okay?

xoxo,
M

5:26 p.m. ::
prev :: next