Unravel Me

the foliage is splendid, so let's go play quidditch!

2004-10-30
the foliage is splendid, so let's go play quidditch!

halloween weekend is upon us. it's hard to believe, b/c after last week's spell of cool, gray weather, it's an unseasonable 80 degrees here today. yesterday afternoon's drive over afton mountain was breathtakingly beautiful b/c the leaves along the gently rolling blue ridge mountains and skyline drive were at their peak.

i'm not sure what came over me, but one moment i was thrilled to see the brilliant reds, oranges and yellows against the azure blue sky and golden rays of the setting sun. the next thing i knew, my eyes were welling up with tears. and i wasn't even sad, so i don't know what happened! maybe it was b/c i was driving past july's accident site and realized i still find navigating that stretch of I-64 during rush-hour nervewracking. or it could be a hormonal thing, since i'm on my period. perhaps it was an overwhelming flood of memories of the crisp autums i experienced when i lived in massaschusetts for school. or maybe it was my teenage recollections of october drives through pennsylvania and new york state, en route to visit my sister in boston.

so...earlier this month, i was at a loss for ideas of what to be for halloween. then, last week while on my biz trip, it suddenly dawned on me: one of the women i met on my trip looked EXACTLY like the actor who plays "Harry Potter" in the movies--face, eyes, round glasses, etc. every time i looked at her, i seriously expected a zigzag-shaped scar to start forming on her forehead! and that's when my idea was born: this halloween, i will be harry potter's girlfriend/love interest, and quidditch seeker extraordinaire, cho chang. she's the harry potter character i think i could most easily pull off, and the one that i think would take the least effort. all i need is a ravenclaw emblem on my shirt, and a nimbus 2000! i think my wrist is healing and will allow me to be back on the quidditch field soon. anyone up for a game of quidditch with me?

well, enjoy your halloween weekend! and though i'm sure everyone's seen this before, i just couldn't resist leaving y'all with this. it really doesn't take much to make me laugh and this one certainly never fails. even my parents loved this image!

2:22 p.m. ::
prev :: next