Unravel Me

if diamonds are a girl's best friend...

2004-10-23
if diamonds are a girl's best friend...

i'm about to fall over from exhaustion. yesterday afternoon i rolled back into town from that week-long work trip. as i did so, my odometer hit 55,000 miles. it's nice to be back. so did ya miss me? admit it, you know you were thinking, "man, i miss that emeraldtiger and her brilliant, insightful writing. d-land�s just not the same without her"... (haha, i only jest)! now i face the daunting task of digging out from under my inbox and catching up on diaries--almost every name on my buddy list is lit up but sooner or later, i�ll read all my favorites from A to Z.

SO�i have a new boyfriend--actually, make that several new boyfriends! can you guess who they are? [hint: if diamonds are a girl's best friend, then this week's hot diamond action at fenway park is *this* girl's best friend]. woooo! need i say more? bathtubmary and red-wine know what i'm talkin' about. mmmhmm! how sweet is it to watch the smugness disappear from a the face of a humbled derek jeter? this week isn�t about the yankees, though. it�s all about the Red Sox.

first, i�ve gotta remedy my giant sleep deficit�-this past week, i stayed up way too late for my own good. i was glued to my hotel tv, occasionally cursing at threatening plays by jeter and �A-rod�. but that's what makes for good baseball, and if you thought i'd collapse into bed before the extra innings were over, y'all don't know me like i thought you did! even my mom exclaimed over the phone, "i didn't know you felt so strongly about baseball". maybe *i* didn't know it either until now! the hot diamond action more than made up for the sad fact that i missed this week's ANTM b/c the hotel had no UPN. *please* tell me that annoying amanda got the boot!

back to baseball: did you know that i didn't truly get into MLB until a few years ago? that changed in july �02 when i went to a mariners game against the rangers. at the time, i didn't know it, but "a-rod" (alex rodriguez) had once played for seattle. when traitor a-rod came up to bat for the rangers, a loud "boooooo" resonated throughout safeco field. little did we know he�d become a yankee. heh. fun times were had back then, and as a bonus, i got to see ichiro hit a home run. baseball doesn't get much better than that!

this week, my full attention has turned toward boston. anyone who knows me knows that beantown occupies a special place in my heart for multiple reasons, so it�s all the more fitting that my loyalties lie where they do. on tap for this weekend: beer consumption and baseball. throw in some pizza and my weekend will be complete. i think arajane has definitely got the right idea--pumpkin ale is the best stuff, so i'll have some of that. if you haven�t had your share of pumpkin beer this fall, you�re missing out, big time, kids!

2:48 p.m. ::
prev :: next