Unravel Me

nausea vs. orgasms; acupuncture, fear & SASS

2004-10-04
nausea vs. orgasms; acupuncture, fear & SASS...

oh dear. nausea ranks near the top of my list of �most unpleasant sensations�. it is the antithesis to an orgasm. i hate to say it, but truthfully, nausea has had me in its unrelenting grip lately. i wish i could tell you instead that i�ve been experiencing continuous orgasms lately--and maybe i have, but that�s for me to know and you to be jealous of! ;-) if i weren�t on the Pill, maybe i�d be worried that i�m pregnant or something. but some anti-rheumatic drugs cause nausea, as can a lupus-flare. whatever the cause, it's really kind of getting me down. [BTW, thank you and you for the soda tips--if this goes on, the soft drink industry will make some serious money off of me]!

i'm actually tempted to cave in tomorrow and mention this to dr. glick at acupuncture as a last resort. but i�m hesitant and discouraged b/c it seems the efficacy of acupuncture treatment for nausea appears to apply mainly to cancer or pregnancy. i also don�t want to waste the precious hour of time we have together during appointments: i get acupuncture for relief of (ongoing stamina/pain issues), and i don�t want to sidetrack him with a complaint as mundane as nausea.

truthfully...there's one other thing holding me back from mentioning it: fear. if i mention something new, my acupuncturist is certainly going to use the "hara" diagnosis technique on me. basically, hara involves pressing/probing the abdomen as a diagnostic method. dr. glick uses it periodically and especially when a new symptom appears. although i trust and like him, hara simply makes me uncomfortable and jittery. i don�t know why. it just does. maybe it's the fear of cold hands on my body or maybe it's that my tummy is super-ticklish. or it could be that being belly-up makes me feel open, exposed, and vulnerable. whatever the case, i know it�s irrational, but i dislike hara. but i have until 3pm tomorrow to decide whether to tell dr. glick about the nausea or deal w/ it myself.

****************

on a more pleasant note: i've been feeling super sassy lately. i'm not sure why, or even where it's coming from. i think it could be the pair of red shoes at nordstrom that i've been coveting lately to complement my fairly dark fall wardrobe. boy, i sure do wear a lot of black--so i really, really, really want some trendy, sassy, cute red shoes! after all, a girl's gotta have some sass, no?

9:13 p.m. ::
prev :: next