Unravel Me

talk the talk, walk the walk

2004-05-11
talk the talk, walk the walk...

saturday was amazing! that's because i did the Arthritis Foundation's Arthritis Walk. as you know, arthritis is an issue that lies close to my heart. as i approach the "big 3-0", it breaks my heart and saddens me to realize that the past ten years have been stolen from me by what turned out to be an overlapping lupus/arthritis variant. (i wasn't correctly diagnosed until i was 26, but i can trace my suffering back to 1994). my 20's were essentially robbed from me--at least the 20's that i had envisioned would be among the most energetic, vibrant, and adventurous times in my life. (i still accomplished many things in that time but i only regret i couldn't have had more stamina and less pain holding me back). if i were given an opportunity to re-live my 20's but w/o (arthritis), i would in a heartbeat.

anyway...instead of moping about what a bitch arthritis is, i decided to do something about it and "walk the walk". this is the 1st year my city held this event, and you have no idea how excited i was to find out it was coming! despite having development experience as a class agent, the fundraising piece made me a little nervous. but what i quickly learned was that arthritis is a cause that many people are willing to support.

to describe the walk in one word: "amazing". those with arthritis were given blue "hero" hats, and led the walk in front. there was a 1 mile or 5K option, and of course, i chose the 5K. the crowd was energizing. i even met other young people who had been touched by some form of arthritis. the event was at once emotional and festive. one girl--a college student--gave a touching speech about her experiences watching her mother suffer from arthritis/lupus, seeing her body get ravaged by harsh drugs like remicade and methotrexate, watching her suffer the ugly side effects of prednisone, and ultimately losing her during her senior year of h.s. i don't think there was a dry eye in the crowd after she spoke. but there was also plenty of celebration afterwards.

words really can't do it justice: just know the walk was fantastic. i felt so empowered and supported. so many people i know lent moral support and well wishes for me to find energy and spirit to sustain me through the adventure. BEST OF ALL, i won a pedometer from Triple Flex to wear whenever i go running or on my power walks! AND...i managed to surpass my goal of $100 by raising $132!

6:00 p.m. ::
prev :: next