Unravel Me

d'oh!

2004-01-29
d'oh!

you're all gonna love this: there's a first time for everything, right? well one day last week, i locked myself out of my car. i've been driving since 1990 and until friday, i hadn't done that even once. so it was bound to happen--as i was getting ready to leave for work, no less!

i did something i don't normally do. i had a mug of tea and my bookbag with me and decided that for once, instead of getting into the driver's side and reaching over to put my things down, i would go open the front passenger door and directly set my bag on the seat and my mug in the cup holder. since it was exceptionally cold out, i also thought it would be a good idea to warm up my car. so i reached in from the passenger side and put the key in the ignition. then i intended to come around and get into the driver's seat and wait for the car to heat up.

unlike the driver's side, when you open the passenger front door, that is the only door that unlocks. so after putting my things in and turning the car on, i inadvertently (or by force-of-habit?) pressed the lock. as the passenger door clicked shut, i felt a flash of panic and lunged for the door but it was too late: "OH SHIT! crappity crap! fuckity fuck!" i had locked myself out of my car with the engine running.

my heart sank. it's the worst feeling in the world. you feel helpless as you replay it in slow motion. it's the same feeling i'd imagine you'd get if you accidentally dropped your keys down an elevator shaft. ugh. what's worse: i keep a spare key on me--only it was in my bag, sitting in my car! so i had to go upstairs to call someone to open my car. they came within 20 minutes, so it all worked out. thankfully i'm an AAA member. i've heard it's pretty hard to lock yourself out of a honda accord. leave it to me to do just that!

on the bright side: my car was completely warmed up by the time i drove off to work!

11:34 a.m. ::
prev :: next