Unravel Me

sports

2003-10-10
sports...

switching gears from the gender genie (previous entry), it's time for the friday five:

1) Do you watch sports? If so, which ones? Sometimes. Baseball or football. Occasionally basketball, tennis, and soccer. Oh and I usually follow the Olympic Games when they're on since they give an opportunity to see sports that aren't normally televised, like swimming and diving, skating, gymnastics, track and field.

2) Who/what are your favorite sports teams and/or favorite athletes? Hmm... I usually root for the hometown teams i.e. teams that hail from Washington DC or Baltimore. But I also really like the Giants, the Mariners, and the Red Sox.

3) Are there any sports you hate? "Hate" is a strong word. However I don't care much for NASCAR racing/racecar driving. I'm also not keen on boxing or wrestling. Golf is probably fun to play but utterly boring to watch on t.v.

4) Have you ever been to a sports event? Yes. I went to a Colorado Rockies game this past August and a Mariners game in 2002. I've been to numerous college football and basketball games. I used to go to games in high school as well. And I've been to the Head of the Charles regatta.

5) Do/did you play any sports (in school or other)? How long did you play? Currently no team sports. I walk, run and swim for fitness. I occasionally play tennis or shoot baskets for fun.

In junior high, I did gymnastics one year since I'm uber-flexible. But the uneven bars discouraged me from going any further. In high school, I ran track and swam all four years and was damn good!

In college, I wanted to row my first year, but was told I'd be better off as a coxswain since I'm petite, so I never proceeded. Then I wanted to play intramural rugby and went to one practice. But I didn't like it and my friends told me they thought I'd get pulverized. Finally, my sophomore year, I decided on intramural water polo, given my strong swimming background and because it was something new. I went to two or three practices but dropped out because of my eyesight. (I'm **very** nearsighted, and without glasses, contact lenses, or prescription goggles on, I couldn't even make out the faces of other people on the team, so it wasn't very fun).

5:32 p.m. ::
prev :: next