Unravel Me

maybe i'm phone shy

2003-06-05
maybe i'm phone shy...

do you know what it's like to be phone shy? i didn't think so.

today, there was an important call i wanted to make to someone about something important. so of course i was all nervous about it and reciting what i wanted to say in my head before placing the call. instead, their voicemail comes on saying they won't be in the office until monday. and why i can't bring myself to just leave a voicemail message, I DON'T KNOW. god, i'm such a dork.

you need to realize that i'm not usually like that. i think i normally communicate with ease and there are tons of important business calls i've had to make in the past. so this definitely isn't the first for me. so i'm forced to ask: what's with the phone shyness today? where is this coming from all of a sudden? i'm a bit perplexed.

sometimes i screen my calls at home. and i always wait for the 2nd or 3rd ring before answering when my phone rings (unless it's my cell phone and i know who it is). and for whatever reason, i've never enjoyed leaving messages on voicemail or answering machines of people i don't know. does that constitute phone shyness? help me understand.

3:38 p.m. ::
prev :: next