Unravel Me

caught up on pot donuts...in the workplace

2003-03-21
caught up on pot donuts...in the workplace...

the past few days i've fallen behind on a lot of diaries i read regularly. this site has been acting so weird and denying me access a lot this week. now i've finally finished backtracking and catching up on everyone's lives. call it skimming, or speed-reading.

but one diary entry i just read a few minutes ago stopped me in my tracks and had me staring slack-jawed at my screen and at these words: "this morning i brought in top pot donuts for my team...."

i am not kidding!

ok, sure, i've heard of pot brownies (not that i partake in them). but pot donuts??? what the hell are those?!?! i suppose that they're top donuts b/c of that one special ingredient known as cannabis.

i'm genuinely surprised anyone can get away with bringing in treats like that to work and letting coworkers get totally baked. then again, i suppose it's probably one of those creative, laid-back offices where you're free to do what you please and where they don't spy on workers or do drug screening. whatever.

***************************************

speaking of which, three weeks ago i saw two diaries where people were fired from work for spending company time on d-land or writing bad stuff about work and employers finding their diary. no lie.

there's a lot of workplace surveillance these days. to a degree it's good to screen employees. but there's a point where it crosses the line into invasiveness, oppressiveness, and big brother: like cameras hidden in potted plants and wall clocks, bugged phone lines, and spyware to see each keystroke you type into your computer and shit like that.

me--i'm all for productivity and not sleeping on the job...for the most part ;)

my parting thoughts:

what difference does it make to my boss if i go online to download music while typing a document? do they really care if a surveillance camera catches me picking my nose in my office? (not that i would). as long as stuff gets done none of that should matter.

3:22 p.m. ::
prev :: next