Unravel Me

T-Minus One Week.

2010-10-21
I know it's bland and cliche to say it, but the shift to full-time work has me thinking there really aren't enough hours in a day. There are so many things that need to be done outside of work, yet by the time I get home in the p.m., I'm completely spent. Since finishing school, I am never, ever productive in the evening anymore, whereas, in school, I was a night-owl, and evenings were some of my most productive, creative times...to the extreme, because it messed up my sleep schedule, and I'm still trying to normalize it. The problem, however, with shifting to being an early bird is that there are still things to do in the evening after work that don't get done b/c I'm so tired and have spent up all of my energy early in the day, and there's no juice left in me.

So. My dad will be going under the knife in exactly one week. Thursday 10-28-10. I'm not sure what more I can really say. It's stressful. But I have to remember that he's otherwise in excellent health--not overweight, not diabetic, doesn't have high blood pressure or high lipids, he's able to walk a mile in under 20 minutes...and all of those things should work in his favor. The last time he had surgery, I looked around at all of the other patients in surrounding rooms in the Cardiac and Cardiothoracic Unit at the hospital, and it was rather depressing. Most patients really did fit that stereotypical image that we think of when we think of all of the lifestyle things that make heart disease such an American epidemic: elderly, sedentary, overweight, smokers, etc.

I visited my parents this past weekend, and it was nice just to savor a few mild autumn days to grill outdoors, and to relax and enjoy being in each others' company. I really wanted time to stand still this weekend.

It's stressful to be working in a post-doc. While I love it and am learning a lot and it's going well, and a post-doc is favorably looked upon by employers when you have one on your resume/vita, it's also like a holding place or an extended adolescence of sorts in my professional life. I need to line up a permanent position for next year, which means I'm starting to look at jobs again. There are pros and cons to job hunting when you're already working, even in a post-doc position. What I have that those who are still in school but applying for the same positions don't have is relevant work experience under my belt. And presumably said experience gives me a clearer idea of exactly what I want to do. On the flip side, those who are still in school have more momentum, and their degree is "fresher". But does it really matter?

I have to admit that I feel a little bit threatened by the idea of potentially of going up for the same jobs as friends who are still working on their dissertations, and who plan to graduate next spring or summer. But such is life. It's a pain in the ass, as well, to have to get back in touch with people for recommendations (again). Although they're willing to help, requesting a recommendation always feels like an imposition--even if being a reference/recommender is part of their work. And they're always super busy and sometimes, again, I worry that now that I'm an alumna, I'm less of a priority than the current students they are now working with.

No use worrying about that, though. Life isn't bad, all things considered, these days. I'll need to remember to update my other blog with the lighter stuff soon. For now, I just want my dad to safely get through his operation and start healing and I want my mom to be sure not to neglect herself during all of this.

PS, Random question, but does anyone (if anyone is still here) know if cough/sore throat lozenges can spike your blood sugars (glucose level)? I hope the answer is yes.

12:06 a.m. ::
prev :: next