Unravel Me

hello oh-eight

2008-01-10
happy new year, kids! i'm back and ready for a great oh-eight. some variations of the following meme float around cyberspace every december/january, so i figured i'd steal it from people like Kickpleat, Librarianista and countless others and give it a go. i promise to be back w/ "real" updates soon.

1. What did you do in 2007 that you�d never done before?
Visited New Mexico. Visited the North Korean border (!), just shy of the De-Militarized Zone. Played Mah Jong.

2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Not sure if I really made any. I�m always looking to grow and to learn new things and improve myself in many different ways. Not sure that those exactly count as resolutions.

3. Did anyone you know give birth?
My friend/classmate Vanessa had a baby boy in November. And this just in: long-time d-land buddy Elizabeth had a baby girl a couple of weeks ago.

4. What countries did you visit? Korea (South Korea)

5. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
More money, more time to read non-school books, more physical stamina, more sleep, an updated wardrobe.

6. What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Let�s just say the first two weeks of June were special because that�s when I traveled abroad, and the entire trip was incredible.

7. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Getting an A in Statistics III.

8. What was your biggest failure?
Not getting rid of clutter in my life as much as I�d have liked. I actually am pretty organized, and my mind is very organized, but I�d like for my living space�especially my desk�to be more reflective of that.

9. Did you suffer illness or injury? Yes, complete with a trip to the ER in November.

10. What was the best thing you bought? Plane tickets.

11. Where did most of your money go? Bills. Textbooks.

12. What did you get really, really, really excited about? My trip to Korea. My trip to Santa Fe.

13. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?
a) same�I�m pretty even-keeled and reasonably happy most of the time.

b) Probably fitter, considering that I�ve doubled my efforts at the gym, HOWEVER�wait--muscle weighs more than fat, right? Right. Ahem�

c) Financially poorer seeing as I was a full-time grad student for all of 2007.
(Contrast that with 2006, when I had an income/salary through the summer, until quitting work to start school). But emotionally and culturally I feel much richer than a year ago.

14. What do you wish you�d done more of? Ride my bike. Read more non-school books.

15. What do you wish you�d done less of? I should have worried less and procrastinated less and been less of a stress-basket.

16. How did you spend Christmas?
With my family. Visiting Colorado and New Mexico. Playing board games Enjoying good food and drink. Staying inside and watching the snow fall outside.

17. Did you fall in love in 2007? I�m always falling in love!

18. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year? Nope.

19. What was the best book you read? Harry Potter (obvious choice). And does a re-reading of the Dud Avocado count? I also liked Calvin Trillin�s Tepper Isn�t Going Out.

20. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Hmm�can�t think of a specific band or artist. I�m getting old. BUT, thanks to my friend Matt, the best discovery I made early in 2007 was the awesomely extensive collection of cd�s at my university�s music library. It�s even more awesome to check them out and rip �em. ;-)

21. What did you want and get?
A new digital camera. A new tea press. A new Timbuk2 messenger bag. Some turquoise jewelry. Also, unconditional love and support, which is a constant in my life.

22. What did you want and not get?
If there�s something I didn�t get, it must not have been important, considering I can�t think of it now.

23. What were your favorite tv shows? 30 Rock. Grey�s Anatomy. 24. Project Runway.

24. What was your favorite film of this year? Pan�s Labyrinth was good. I also really enjoyed The Departed.

25. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Had a two-tier celebration: on my actual birthday I visited my parents� house. They took me to dinner at a Thai restaurant followed by strawberry shortcake. Later that week, my friends helped me celebrate by taking me to an Italian restaurant where I had sea bass with white wine. Afterwards, they threw a party complete with cupcakes and more wine, and mimosas and Scrabble. Plus my friend Daisy came all the way from California to visit. Also, Architect Boy took me out for curry at a Himalayan restaurant as a belated birthday treat. Turning 33 was awesome!

26. What kept you sane? Family and friends. Swimming. Yoga.

27. What political issue stirred you the most?
Too many! Iraq, climate change/the environment, healthcare, education, stem cell research (I�m pro)�.to name just a few.

28. Describe your personal fashion concept in 2007.
In cooler weather: typical grad student attire, meaning jeans, corduroys, or my favorite black pants I bought at Lucy, and either a fleece, a hoodie or my favorite down vest. My feet sport either Danskos or my new Mary Janes. I bought new glasses in June. So add those in. In warmer weather I�m all about pretty skirts and strappy sandals and painted toenails.

29. Who was the best new person/people you met? Hmm, now why can�t I think of anyone? I know some great people, but maybe I didn�t meet them in 2007?

30. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007? Things really do have a way of working out.

10:08 p.m. ::
prev :: next