Unravel Me

migrained musings of a weather wimp*

2005-06-11
{typed yesterday @11:45 pm but not posted due to fickle d-land server}

it's not so much the heat as it is the humidity that's making me restless and uncomfortable. this sultry air reminds me of the summer evenings of my childhood, where we'd play one last round of frisbee in the back yard, finishing our game just as the fireflies began to light up. summer seemed so long back then. i once loved the all-enveloping, sauna-like weather b/c it was a sure sign school was almost out and vacation was about to begin. but somewhere along the line, i became a weather-wimp*, and my tolerance for heat & humidity plummeted. i can pinpoint when it happened: 2002.

i spent much of that summer on the w. coast (a week in the SF bay area & a month in seattle). save for the chilly, gray 1st week-and-a-half of my seattle stay, it was gorgeous in both cities, w/ temperatures rarely above 75 or 80, low humidity, and clear skies. but i kept wondering when i'd finally be able to break out the shorts, tank tops, sundresses, and sandals. when would i finally be able to wear them around town w/o stamping "TOURIST!" on my forehead? since when were jeans were still necessary on july the 4th?! was it normal to reach july w/o having craved any watermelon or popsicles yet? then, upon my return to the e. coast in late july, i wilted. the second i stepped off of the plane in DC, it felt like a warm, wet blanket had draped my body. so although part of me snickers contemptuously when my w. coast friends complain about 80+ degree heat, part of me secretly sympathizes. i'm a closet weather-wimp.

Other News: it's been a good week, save for TWO menstrual migraines. for some reason, these indescribably monstrous headaches are becoming more frequent (2-3 per month, all occurring the week of my period)! and the pain has gotten worse over time, so i'm at a loss for what to do. ugh. i will mention it to dr. glick at my next acupuncture session. but the one problem w/ acupuncture is that my appointments aren't necessarily scheduled while i actually have my period and have these acute headaches. so unless he can either: 1) do a preventive needle treatment, or 2) schedule me during my period, i may well be doomed to menstrual migraine misery for the rest of my childbearing years� 'til menopause do us part. yikes, now that's a scary thought!

potentially on tap for the weekend: 8-10 hrs of sleep tonight, frozen drinks, my so-called "triathlon training", farmer's market, star wars, and generally playing things by ear. also: finally write about my recent cycling adventures.

*NOTE: since "weather wimp" is often paired w/ winter, just call me a "weather wuss" for summer instead.

11:51 a.m. ::
prev :: next