Unravel Me

lightweight cookie gut, & men with vertical challenges

2005-04-20
it was 90 degrees today and even now at 12am, my apt. is still ridiculously hot. so the last thing i wanna think about is baked manicotti. but i'll post the recipe when temps tumble (sans photo, since my image hosting is screwy and i can't figure it out). for now, the picture is on Fotolog, and also my brand new Flickr (sorry no link yet). i meant to post the other evening but my cabernet got the better of me on monday night, rendering me too useless to update. by 8:30 i felt that warm fuzzy, sleepy, wine-induced tipsy, and totally sank into my couch. lightweight!

i'm still trying to acquire a bike for my triathlon, and will keep you posted. i've been swimming a lot, which is good. but on sunday, cindy and daisy twisted my arm (ok, it really didn't have to be twisted hard) into splitting dessert. i rarely order dessert at restaurants, but there's this decadent cookie pie (essentially a giant chocolate chip cookie topped wih ice cream, like a sundae) that proved irresistible. i swear it'd take three days in the gym to burn off the cookie pie if one person ate it alone! cookie gut!

SO, my friends are determined to try to set me up with this one guy who i'm definitely not interested in. i think in theory, mutual acquaintances are a good way to meet people b/c you both have a common reference point. there's safety in that. but sometimes i get wary of friends playing cupid, b/c i'm so picky/choosy about guys. in the end, sometimes i feel like even my friends don't know what i'm looking for in a partner, and it's frustrating. don't your friends know your preferences? all of this has me thinking about many different things about myself, about dating, my pickiness, and Sex and the City kinds of things that carrie waxes poetically about.

what i'll say next might sound shallow, and hypocritical, since i'm small-ish. so let me rephrase it into hypothetical questions: 1) if you're playing matchmaker for a friend, and she's petite, do you make a conscious effort to pair her w/ your short male acquaintances? 2) if so, is it b/c maybe you think their height is more compatible? 3) why are guys between 5'10 and 6'1 so elusive? are men in this height range the most popular w/ the ladies, so most of them are taken? the truth is that generally, i'm not physically attracted to shorter (vertically challenged) guys. perhaps opposites attract, but before you judge me, know that i don�t judge books only by their cover--i've dated men both shorter and taller than 5'10-6'1, and it worked out fine. i DO look at the total package. in fact, brian--my 1st (high school) boyfriend--wasn't tall. but the height thing is a preference and all things being equal, a guy's height matters!

i don�t think i've ever written much about brian, or my high school self, here, so what the heck? do you want a peek at my teenage self? maybe i'll share a glimpse, however it's bedtime, so how about i save that for tomorrow? mmkay? but hey, in the meantime, if you know any decent single guys between 5'10 and 6'1, hook me up! intelligence, patience, and sense of humor are musts!

�to be continued�

11:57 p.m. ::
prev :: next