Unravel Me

blue nile & green valley, manicotti & merlot, prickly liver

2005-04-16
whew! i finally have a moment to catch up here before heading back out. some highlights from the past week:

1) last saturday, i finally satisfied my curiosity and tried ethiopian food! we went to a new place called "Blue Nile". if you've never tried ethiopian, i *highly* recommend it. the food is incredibly flavorful and also healthy, with options to satisfy veggies and carnivores alike. i got a red & yellow lentil dish (whose name i can't remember). the meal comes with a flat, spongey, crepe-like bread called "injerra", which you unroll and tear off and use to pick up your meal with. you don't need utensils! will i go back? absolutely!

2) last sunday, i went to the Green Valley Book Fair w/ my dad. it's about an hour from here, near my parents' house and is a giant book sale outlet housed in two *huge* warehouses. you can get books, books, and more books (all new, no used) on almost any topic, for 60-90% off of retail! my dad encourages his students to go there instead of the campus bookstore, b/c sometimes, they have the books that he assigns in his classes. so he always notes it as an option in his course syllabus. (that is, if those college kids want to save mom and dad's their money). really, the book fair is a reader's dream, and a book-lover's mecca. many people travel in from out-of-state. alas, my description (and even their web page) can't do it justice, so you'll just have to go there in person. suffice it to say, i always leave w/ an arm load of books!

3) last sunday i also hosted dinner and made manicotti. everyone seemed to enjoy the food. it came out well, if i may say so myself. don't manicotti and red wine go perfectly together? now, i love pinot noir, especially when i'm in a wine-snob mood. but instead of having that w/ my hearty italian dish, i decided to help the merlot industry's "sideways-sagging" sales. isn't it funny how powerful one line in one movie can be? whoa. now give me a glass of "fucking merlot" and i'll hold it up proud, yes i will. i topped off the manicotti by serving strawberry shortcake for dessert.

4) i had a weird acupuncture appt. on tuesday, but maybe it worked, b/c i'm feeling slightly better than last week. dr. glick identified my terrible headaches as menstrual migraines (!?) and treated them w/ "liver points", which felt super sensitive. i almost kicked him (!) when he needled a point on the top of my foot, and had a really strong reaction to the treatment. i cried, which surprised me. i didn't expect that acupuncture session to tap into my emotions, so i think it scared me that he accurately picked up on my state of mind, and zeroed in on that too, telling me my mindset resulted from a "blockage" in chi. hmm. i have more to say sometime, b/c it made me think about a lot of stuff, but i'm not ready.

overall, last week was decent, and so far, today has been, too.

3:14 p.m. ::
prev :: next